Carne Adovada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This turned out great. I couldn't find pork stew meat, so I used a pork roast instead and cut it into chunks. Instead of using the oven, I put it in my slow cooker for 6/7 hours and it turned out SO tender. Very yummy. Boyfriend ranks it in the "top 5" best dishes I've ever made. Would definitely try this again. Only next time I won't burn my finger with the hot flour mixture - ouch, nice big water blister! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Well, after a couple of attempts, it turned out great. I learned that pork tenderloin doesn't work--it has to be shoulder (I use the picnic, the butt would probably do just as well). I also used HOT New Mexico ground red chilis with a couple of habaneros thrown in (seeds removed, then chopped). Marinated 15 hrs and cooked almost 5. The only thing I would do next time is to make more sauce and reserve some to serve on the side as the marinating sauce got pretty well absorbed in the cooking process. My asbestos-mouthed friends were pleased, but not overwhelmed! Cold beer was the beverage of choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Excellent...now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
So I used the basic recipe but I added "zizzed" onions, used pork tenderloins and cooked it in the crock pot! SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This recipe is unbelievable. Great taste, great appearance. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I don't know what made this turn out so unpalatable, but I didn't like it at all. The sauce ingredients smelled WONDERFUL while simmering on the stovetop, but when the dish came out of the oven, despite looking appetizing, it tasted bad plus it was very salty. Possibly because I used "chili powder" instead of plain red chile powder. I picked the pork out of the sauce and put it back in the oven with some juice leftover from cooking refried beans and cooked a while longer, so I at least had seasoned pork to go with the dinner, but I know nobody would have eaten it in the original sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Wonderful! I made this recipe for a rotating lunch group that I am in....with some VERY picky eaters, and everyone raved about it. Great taste and just the right amount of spice to please everyone! Will definately make again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateTate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This is the first dish I've made that I had to completely throw out, and I'm not sure what I did wrong - I halved it (just 2 of us), put it in the oven (at 300 because my oven cooks hot) and went to church. Returned 3 hours later to a yummy spicy smell, but dry and blackened chunks of "jerky adovada." I don't know if it's because I halved it? However, I am giving it 3 stars because the flavor was still great! My husband actually ate about half the pork pieces and encouraged me to try the recipe again. I'm thinking I will try the slow-cooker on low, or cover the pan in the oven and cook much less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
I used boneless chicken breasts instead of the pork and cooked it for two hours instead of four. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
My boyfriend liked it alot. I thought it was alright but wish the flavor had gotten in the meat better. This time we used beef roast. Next time I will try pork instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bawkbagawk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States