Carne Adovada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I did not find this recipe to be at all authentic and I grew up in New Mexico. This is definitely a regional dish. I tried the recipe anyway since I did have the red powder on hand. It just didn't cut it for me and was quite salty. I guess since I prefer my carne hot, I will just tweak it next time with red chile (even Bueno's frozen as I can get that here).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Good thing everyone wrote such rave reviews for this recipe because the photo almost made me pass it by - looks gross and nothing like mine looks at this point. So far so good (it is in the oven) and a great main dish for company that you can start and forget until time to serve. Allows time for sides (or finishing cleaning up the house) w/o all the last minute fuss. Smells great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This has an amazing taste. I would prefer some heat along with it but it is great just the way it is. I do agree, however that there should just be 1 tsp of salt used instead of the 1 tbls. The only thing I ever changed was I added a medium size can of fire roased green chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This is really tasty. I didn't have any dried New Mexico chili powder so instead I took 3 cups of water and boiled it turning the heat off after it reached boiling. Meanwhile I took the stems and seeds out of 5 whole red chili's and added them to the hot water and let them sit and soak for about a half an hour or so, making sure they were completely submerged. After this I put water and chili's into the blender and pureed them. Then followed the rest of the recipe as stated except I ended up using the slow-cooker. I should have added more water cooking it this way because after I came home 8 hours later it was starting to burn to the bottom of the slow-cooker. I would suggest using a lot less salt as well because after you make the sauce and before you put it on the meat to marinade it is not salty at all but, after the meat has cooked and the sauce has thickened it is way too salty. Maybe use only half as much as it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I've used this recipe over and over again. Its a family favorite. I first tried adovada in Chimayo, New Mexico and everytime I taste this recipe it brings me right back to that delightful area. When I'm lazy I use the crockpot and don't bother to marinate ahead of time. Still darn yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Very GOOD! I often purchase the preseasoned, ready to cook, Adovada at my local Hispanic market. When I have the time to do it myself, I use this recipe. We love Adovada and this an authentic recipe. After reading some of the other reviews, I would suggest that people use the right kind of chiles. If not, the taste will not be the same... you can not sub regular chili powder for the New Mexico Reds. Thanks for the delicious post. We enjoy this recipe immensely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This is literally the best thing I have ever eaten! I add 1 diced sweet yellow onion, 1/4 cup brown sugar, and the juice of 1/2 a lemon. You MUST use the New Mexico Chili Powder! Pair with the Spanish Rice II recipe and Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
My husband and I grew up in New Mexico and this is exactly right! The trick is to use lard!! I doubled the recipe for a 4 pound pork tenderloin, as we like extra sauce. I cubed the meat, put it in the icebox overnight and then cooked in the Crockpot for 8 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was very good, I didnt have time to marinade, and it still turned out delicious. I used california chile powder, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, pepper, and oregano. I seasoned well, placed on a baking sheet, and drizzled lightly over the meat with veg oil. I baked on 375 for 20 mins, and broiled each side for about 5 mins each side, or until they were nice and broiled on the outside, and chopped into pieces and made taquieria style tacos out of them with onion, cilantro, cabbage/or lettuce, chile, and lemon. MMMMMM so good, the meat had so much flavor, i bet even after marinading its even more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This recipe is awesome! I cook about 1 1/2 pounds of meat for 3 1/2 hours. Other than that, I follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States