Carne Adovada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was soooo good I could not possibly tel you. I marinaded mine for a day and a half (due to circumstances) We served ours over white rice and beans. I happily enjoyed eating the letovers the days following. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Perfect as is, but instead of salt, I add a bouillon cube or 2, depending on how much water used, and increase oregano to 2 tsp., and cumin to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corrales, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I have to say this was very good! I've never had this before, and I was surprised at a couple of things: the meat was amazingly tender; and in spite of the amount of New Mexico red chile powder, it was not spicy-hot, just richly seasoned. My only change was to reduce the salt to 2 tsp., and I will cut down to 1 1/2 tsp. next time. It wasn't too salty, but I think we could do less. So glad I tried this! I served it on flour tortillas with corn and black bean salad on the side. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This was okay. Not sure what went wrong but it kind of lacked flavor. The marinade smelled wonderful when I made it and the meat marinated over night as called for. Just didn't quite penetrate the meat. Don't know. It was good just not what I expected. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I used vegetable stock instead of water & added a bunch of roasted garlic in addition to garlic powder. I like a strong chili flavor, so i ended up adding 1/4 cup Rancho de Chimayo chili molina per pound of pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Excellent and easy recipe! My modifications: I used a little over 2 lbs of pork stew and thinly sliced pork meat (what I had on hand). As suggested by others, I used a little less than a teaspoon of salt. When making the sauce in the frying pan, I added 1/2 cup of water at a time, and only used 2 cups, not 2.5 as suggested in recipe. I did not have time to marinate, so after making the sauce in the frying pan, I poured it over the meat in the slow cooker; cooked on high for 3.5 hours and it was done. Everything else stayed the same. The true test for a repeat meal is if my daughter likes it...she LOVED it. Thank you Delilah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shireen95
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I live in NM, so I was looking for a recipe that tasted right. And this one is amazing!!!!! I do recommend covering the meat while you cook it. Otherwise it gets super dry. Also, doubling the chile if you like to have a lot of sauce with your carne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This is the best carne adovada I have ever had! We make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
The best recipe out there for Carne Adobada! Absolutely delicious...the only thing I recommend is cut the salt down to 1/2 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was a wonderful recipe. I used pork roast instead of stew meat. Tasting the sauce before marinating the meat in it, it was salty, but after cooking it was perfect. I also cooked it in a crock-pot, which made it a bit runny, but a quick fix of adding flour thickened it up. This tastes like the Carne Adovada we eat from our favorite mexican food restaurant. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States