Carne Adovada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Absolutely delish, and made the house smell so good!! I served it with sour cream, cheese, and buttered tortillas. Managed to save just enough for me to have leftovers for lunch. Thanks for the great recipe--will definitely make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janee'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was soooo good I could not possibly tel you. I marinaded mine for a day and a half (due to circumstances) We served ours over white rice and beans. I happily enjoyed eating the letovers the days following. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corie Browning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Perfect as is, but instead of salt, I add a bouillon cube or 2, depending on how much water used, and increase oregano to 2 tsp., and cumin to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corrales, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I have to say this was very good! I've never had this before, and I was surprised at a couple of things: the meat was amazingly tender; and in spite of the amount of New Mexico red chile powder, it was not spicy-hot, just richly seasoned. My only change was to reduce the salt to 2 tsp., and I will cut down to 1 1/2 tsp. next time. It wasn't too salty, but I think we could do less. So glad I tried this! I served it on flour tortillas with corn and black bean salad on the side. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This was okay. Not sure what went wrong but it kind of lacked flavor. The marinade smelled wonderful when I made it and the meat marinated over night as called for. Just didn't quite penetrate the meat. Don't know. It was good just not what I expected. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I used vegetable stock instead of water & added a bunch of roasted garlic in addition to garlic powder. I like a strong chili flavor, so i ended up adding 1/4 cup Rancho de Chimayo chili molina per pound of pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Excellent and easy recipe! My modifications: I used a little over 2 lbs of pork stew and thinly sliced pork meat (what I had on hand). As suggested by others, I used a little less than a teaspoon of salt. When making the sauce in the frying pan, I added 1/2 cup of water at a time, and only used 2 cups, not 2.5 as suggested in recipe. I did not have time to marinate, so after making the sauce in the frying pan, I poured it over the meat in the slow cooker; cooked on high for 3.5 hours and it was done. Everything else stayed the same. The true test for a repeat meal is if my daughter likes it...she LOVED it. Thank you Delilah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shireen95
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I live in NM, so I was looking for a recipe that tasted right. And this one is amazing!!!!! I do recommend covering the meat while you cook it. Otherwise it gets super dry. Also, doubling the chile if you like to have a lot of sauce with your carne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This is the best carne adovada I have ever had! We make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
The best recipe out there for Carne Adobada! Absolutely delicious...the only thing I recommend is cut the salt down to 1/2 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States