Carnation® Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This dish was easy to make and the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
My husband's grandfather is always talking about a meatball dish that his late wife used to make that was a family favorite. I searched several websites and many recipes before finding this one. It was a hit on the first try. Now we have Mimi's secret meatball recipe. We all loved it. It was delicious and a lot easier to make than I thought it would be. It has now become one of our family favorites. Thanks Susie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
I only used the sauce recipe from this recipe. It made a very bland sauce which tasted of... uh. Nothing. Even after adding salt (which was not required in the recipe) the sauce was still bland. I even added condensed cream of mushroom and it was still bland. The end resulted in a bad meal. I dont know about the meatballs. They may be good (I sure wish I used this meatball recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
I found the dish to be somewhat bland. Although it was good, I will keep looking for a swedish meatball recipe that I like more. There was way too much sauce in my opinion, 1/2 the sauce would have been much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
Family and friends were driven mad by the wonderful aroma through the house. I used butter instead of oil too, added mushrooms to the sauce and served with sliced steamed carrots. Got rave reviews. The combination of nutmeg, garlic and papper is delicate, yet intrigueing. Simply pleasing. This is a permanent meatball recipe now. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
Very delicious! Try using reconstituted dry onions instead of fresh onions in the meatballs. I've used this meatball recipe (minus the gravy) for spaghetti and meatballs and for stuffed peppers. Turns out great! Gravy good, but needed a lot of salt. Use whole milk instead of evaporated milk, no noticable difference in taste in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
Good basic recipe. You don't need the instant dry milk (if you don't usually use it). I did NOT use oil in my sauce, I used an equal amount of butter-richer taste I thought. It's a nice sauce, but I kicked it up a bit with (believe this) a teaspoon of cider vinegar! If you could use fresh dill all the better! Didn't make the meatballs as big as they suggested - thought the meatballs were suppose to be smaller (??) but then I used them as an appetizer instead of a dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
I used frozen meatballs from a store instead of making my own. I heated the meatballs before making the sause for the meat drippings. It turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States