Carnation® Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
**** REVIEW FOR GRAVY ONLY***********Used Butter, not oil to make rue- deleted dill, instead added 1 clove minced garlic, sprinkle of dried onions...... Was very tastey..........Used my own meatballs-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
These are yummy, especially good with hot buttered noodles. A Fall Classic around our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
I really enjoyed these! My husband actually made them, omitting the onion, and they were excellent. They reminded me of the Swedish Meatballs my mother used to make when I was a child. Will definitely make again (but I think I would add a wee bit more nutmeg & dillweed, just because I love them...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Sauce was OK - good taste but very bland. Will add more salt, garlic salt, and/or Worcestershire next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
The meatballs are excellent, however I've not made the sauce that goes with it, I have used the sauce in the recipe for Swedish Meatballs I (it's easy, and very tasty).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
I found the sauce very bland. Will have to spice it up if I try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
The meat balls were good but the sauce was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I made these the night before last. Very tasty! I didn't have any dry milk so I left it out. I made the meatballs small and they turned our perfectly. this will be a repeater in our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
I used frozen swedish meatballs but did make the sauce with the following changes. I did not use any meat drippings. Melted 1/2 stick of butter in a pan and added just a bit more than 1/4 cup flour. After adding the rest of the ingredients I also added a bit of onion powder, a bit more dill than called for and a tsp. of salt. This was perfect swedish meatball gravy! Yummy. Everybody liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
I made these with ground chicken and they were really good. I had to add extra bread crumbs because the ground chicken was very moist. I also did not have dry milk so I added 2 tbls of evaporated milk to the bread crumbs and cut back on the water(used 1/4 cup). Im not a fan of garlic salt so I used kosher salt instead. Also I added a few shakes of worcestershire sauce to the mixture (approx 1 tsp). As for the gravy I used 1 can of low sodium beef broth and cut back on the flour only used 3 tbls. I aslo added worcestershire to the gravy about 1 tsp and that seemed to give it a nice flavor. I will make these again they are very good I bet they are great with the ground beef as wll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States