Carnation® Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Loved It!. I used 1/4 tsp nutmeg instead of dill added about 1 tbsp of vermouth (better than wine) and 1 tsp of worchestershire. I also used premade italian meatballs from Schwans and made the sauce in a pan. Then put the meatballs down in the crockpot and added the sauce and let it cook on low for about 2 hours. It was ready for us to eat when we were ready. Husband loved it. Served it with egg noodles the first night and the wonderful leftovers with angel hair. Yum Yum!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lrdreamchaser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This rating is based on the sauce mostly. The meatballs were fine but we didn't care for the sauce. Mine turned out like flavorless paste. If anyone wants to make swedish meatballs I would try a different recipe. I wouldn't make this again. I added worcestershire and some garlic as per another user's suggestion and it was still flavorless. Perhaps using au jus instead of broth would produce slightly better results?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
rating is for the sauce only. I found it a little bland, but everyone else who ate them RAVED about them. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Pretty bland but a nice base gravy that you can 'soup up' to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
need to double the recipe for more leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Jones

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Rutland, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I was only able to make the meatballs because I did not have the ingrediants for the sauce. The meatballs are great tasting. I used garlic powder and then the same amount of salt, also added about 1/8 t. of pepper. For the sauce I used mushroom soup and added some sharp cheese to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Sauce only review: This turned out really, really thick for me! I ended up adding the rest of the can of the carnation milk and also some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine VW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I was skeptical that this would turn out. I come from the school of use the packet seasoning mixes and cream of mushroom soup for the gravy, as my mom made it that way. Not so. This was close to how mom made it, but WAY BETTER. I increased the recipe to use two pounds of meat (10 servings). In the meatball mixture, I added 1 tsp. each of onion powder, garlic powder, dried oregano and dried basil with the rest of the dried ingredients. I formed them into balls and baked them in a 9x13 baking dish at 350* for a half hour, then drained all the fat off and gently stirred it into the sauce. For the sauce, I sauteed a diced onion, 8 oz. of fresh mushrooms and garlic in a mixture of butter and EVOO, then added the remaining sauce ingredients. Served over Rich Mashed Potatoes, this was pure comfort food. The addition of the mushrooms, garlic and onion with the evaporated milk and beef broth made a mushroom-soup base without all the chemicals. And the dill, lemme tell you....I wasn't sure it would work but it really did. Freaking noms. I'm stoked there's just enough leftovers for lunch tomorrow. NOTE: The addition of the dried milk to the meatballs? Money idea. I wish I'd thought of it. Try it with the little additions I made. You'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
this is a great special i like to make when we want something diffrent. It is so easy to make. i do not ever want to lose this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States