Carnation® Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Very Yummy. I would give the meatball's a 5 star and the gravy a 3.5, so let's call it 4. I subbed ground turkey for the beef and it worked out great, also I omitted the powdered milk b/c I didn't have any and didn't want to purchase any just for this recipe. The gravy was pretty good, but it wasn't exactly what I was looking for, I wanted something a bit creamier. I'll keep looking for a recipe for the gravy but am sure I'll make these meatballs again! Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
The meatballs were very good but the sauce was very bland. I suggest adding several spices. after doctoring it up quite a bit it ended up being delicious. I used fresh dill from the garden
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Delicious! Made this for my family of 4 plus my parents - doubled the recipe - had some left overs. Everyone loved them (even me - I'm not a big meatball fan). :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Good, but the more I made it the less I liked it. It's missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
My rating is for the gravy. I used my own meatballs. This is a good basic recipe, but I did change a few things. I used salted butter instead of oil. I added garlic and onion powder, and a little worcestershire. I didn't have to add salt with those ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shatzie2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This was a total disaster. There was too much dill flavor and no salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Bend, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
It was a really great recipe. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef. It turned out wonderfully, however there were no drippings leftover for the gravy. Just an FYI, this recipe in my opinion needs a tad more salt. Still its one of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Very good meatballs. I served mine with rice because my clients preferred it. 80 person unanimous vote confirms this recipe goes in the save pile :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NitroBurns

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Excellent, easy to make and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Loved It!. I used 1/4 tsp nutmeg instead of dill added about 1 tbsp of vermouth (better than wine) and 1 tsp of worchestershire. I also used premade italian meatballs from Schwans and made the sauce in a pan. Then put the meatballs down in the crockpot and added the sauce and let it cook on low for about 2 hours. It was ready for us to eat when we were ready. Husband loved it. Served it with egg noodles the first night and the wonderful leftovers with angel hair. Yum Yum!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lrdreamchaser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States