Carnation® Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
Very delicious! Try using reconstituted dry onions instead of fresh onions in the meatballs. I've used this meatball recipe (minus the gravy) for spaghetti and meatballs and for stuffed peppers. Turns out great! Gravy good, but needed a lot of salt. Use whole milk instead of evaporated milk, no noticable difference in taste in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
Family and friends were driven mad by the wonderful aroma through the house. I used butter instead of oil too, added mushrooms to the sauce and served with sliced steamed carrots. Got rave reviews. The combination of nutmeg, garlic and papper is delicate, yet intrigueing. Simply pleasing. This is a permanent meatball recipe now. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
I used frozen meatballs from a store instead of making my own. I heated the meatballs before making the sause for the meat drippings. It turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
Good basic recipe. You don't need the instant dry milk (if you don't usually use it). I did NOT use oil in my sauce, I used an equal amount of butter-richer taste I thought. It's a nice sauce, but I kicked it up a bit with (believe this) a teaspoon of cider vinegar! If you could use fresh dill all the better! Didn't make the meatballs as big as they suggested - thought the meatballs were suppose to be smaller (??) but then I used them as an appetizer instead of a dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
My husband's grandfather is always talking about a meatball dish that his late wife used to make that was a family favorite. I searched several websites and many recipes before finding this one. It was a hit on the first try. Now we have Mimi's secret meatball recipe. We all loved it. It was delicious and a lot easier to make than I thought it would be. It has now become one of our family favorites. Thanks Susie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
Very tasty! Gravy great with potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PFEIFE
Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
A Classic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
I used frozen swedish meatballs but did make the sauce with the following changes. I did not use any meat drippings. Melted 1/2 stick of butter in a pan and added just a bit more than 1/4 cup flour. After adding the rest of the ingredients I also added a bit of onion powder, a bit more dill than called for and a tsp. of salt. This was perfect swedish meatball gravy! Yummy. Everybody liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I made these the night before last. Very tasty! I didn't have any dry milk so I left it out. I made the meatballs small and they turned our perfectly. this will be a repeater in our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
These are yummy, especially good with hot buttered noodles. A Fall Classic around our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States