Carnation® Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
I used frozen swedish meatballs but did make the sauce with the following changes. I did not use any meat drippings. Melted 1/2 stick of butter in a pan and added just a bit more than 1/4 cup flour. After adding the rest of the ingredients I also added a bit of onion powder, a bit more dill than called for and a tsp. of salt. This was perfect swedish meatball gravy! Yummy. Everybody liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
My husband's grandfather is always talking about a meatball dish that his late wife used to make that was a family favorite. I searched several websites and many recipes before finding this one. It was a hit on the first try. Now we have Mimi's secret meatball recipe. We all loved it. It was delicious and a lot easier to make than I thought it would be. It has now become one of our family favorites. Thanks Susie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
Made my own meatballs, but started off with their sauce recipe. Had to make some additions: 1 Tbls. Wocestershire sauce, 1 tsp. garlic salt, and 1 Tbls. parsley. Substituted 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg for the dill (nutmeg is the original flavor of Swedish Meatballs). I also added 8 oz. fresh sliced mushrooms. It was very good with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
**** REVIEW FOR GRAVY ONLY***********Used Butter, not oil to make rue- deleted dill, instead added 1 clove minced garlic, sprinkle of dried onions...... Was very tastey..........Used my own meatballs-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
This was a nice easy recipe and it tasted good with a little added salt and garlic in the sauce. Took the suggestion from another review and used butter instead of oil. I think it was a wise choice. Will surely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
Meatballs were excellant, the gravy was very bland, next time will add butter insead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
I used frozen meatballs from a store instead of making my own. I heated the meatballs before making the sause for the meat drippings. It turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Sauce was OK - good taste but very bland. Will add more salt, garlic salt, and/or Worcestershire next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
I made these with ground chicken and they were really good. I had to add extra bread crumbs because the ground chicken was very moist. I also did not have dry milk so I added 2 tbls of evaporated milk to the bread crumbs and cut back on the water(used 1/4 cup). Im not a fan of garlic salt so I used kosher salt instead. Also I added a few shakes of worcestershire sauce to the mixture (approx 1 tsp). As for the gravy I used 1 can of low sodium beef broth and cut back on the flour only used 3 tbls. I aslo added worcestershire to the gravy about 1 tsp and that seemed to give it a nice flavor. I will make these again they are very good I bet they are great with the ground beef as wll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
The meatballs are excellent, however I've not made the sauce that goes with it, I have used the sauce in the recipe for Swedish Meatballs I (it's easy, and very tasty).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States