Carnation® Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
I made these with ground chicken and they were really good. I had to add extra bread crumbs because the ground chicken was very moist. I also did not have dry milk so I added 2 tbls of evaporated milk to the bread crumbs and cut back on the water(used 1/4 cup). Im not a fan of garlic salt so I used kosher salt instead. Also I added a few shakes of worcestershire sauce to the mixture (approx 1 tsp). As for the gravy I used 1 can of low sodium beef broth and cut back on the flour only used 3 tbls. I aslo added worcestershire to the gravy about 1 tsp and that seemed to give it a nice flavor. I will make these again they are very good I bet they are great with the ground beef as wll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
This was a nice easy recipe and it tasted good with a little added salt and garlic in the sauce. Took the suggestion from another review and used butter instead of oil. I think it was a wise choice. Will surely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
Meatballs were excellant, the gravy was very bland, next time will add butter insead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
I agree with the other reviewers who say that the sauce in this recipe is very bland. Required a lot of salt to make it tasty enough, but still wasn't what I was looking for. However, the meatballs were excellent--perfect flavor & texture, and I plan to use the meatballs from this recipe and combine them with the sauce from Jessica's recipe (Swedish Meatballs I).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
Made my own meatballs, but started off with their sauce recipe. Had to make some additions: 1 Tbls. Wocestershire sauce, 1 tsp. garlic salt, and 1 Tbls. parsley. Substituted 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg for the dill (nutmeg is the original flavor of Swedish Meatballs). I also added 8 oz. fresh sliced mushrooms. It was very good with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
A Classic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
Very tasty! Gravy great with potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PFEIFE
Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
The meatballs were terrific...I'll make this one again and again. Didn't try the sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
We didn't care for these at all. Maybe we just don't like nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
I liked this recipe a lot. This is the second time I have made it. The first time I made it I used a 7% fat hamburger and that was a mistake I think. There weren't any juices so my gravy was made strictly out of the added oil! (2nd time I added butter to make up the diff) Anyway, The 15% fat hamburger seemed pretty good... although I would be tempted to try higher. I also saute'ed some mushrooms that I topped the noodles with before dumping the meatballs and gravy on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States