Carnation® Creamy Cheesy Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Great recipe for mashed potatoes! These are definitely creamy and cheesy! I used red potatoes and left the skins on and added a little garlic and onion powder to taste. I used reduced fat cheddar cheese and Land O Laked light butter to cut down on the fat and calories. I used an electric mixer to get the nice and fluffy. Great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
These potatoes are tasty, but I am not sure they are good enough to justify the fat content. For that reason alone I will most likely not make them again. I think you can have potatoes just as rich and creamy without the added fat from the condensed milk. I will try making these again using regular milk rather than the condensed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
These were absolutely delicious! I added some minced garlic and about 1/4 cup of chopped onion to the boiling water with the potatoes as I normally do, and these were GREAT! Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Used FF sour cream instead of the evaporated milk, plus about 1/3 more of the shredded cheese, and the hubby and son inhaled these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I used organic red potatoes, fat free evaporated milk and lowfat shredded cheese. I did heat the milk and gradually added a little at a time until it was the right consistancy, I had about a 1/3 of a cup leftover after I was finished. This went really well with Meatloaf with a Ranch Twist and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2003
I am awful at making mashed potatoes. I thought I would give this recipe a try. The carnation milk is what makes it really creamy. Try adding some fresh garlic to give it a zing!! Tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Delicious! I used knock-off brand evaporated milk and left out the cheese and they were still amazing. Nice and fluffy and rich. Definitely a success, I will be making all of my mashed potatoes like this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
Very good indeed! I have made these potatoes numerous times and they are always a hit. This is a very vesitile recipe. I have changed this recipe up several times (like not adding cheese, adding a different cheese, adding sour cream or using instant potatoes) and they always come out great. Using the evaporated milk is the key to a great tasting creamy mashed potato dish. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
They turned out way too thick. I'd skip the evaporated milk next time and just use regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
No rocket science involved here to make these decadently delicious. Because of the clarity of the directions these are easy to prepare with guaranteed results even for the novice cook. As suggested in the recipe, I included chopped green onion and cooked, crumbled bacon. Just like a loaded twice-baked potato without all the fuss! I did substitute half-and-half for the evaporated milk and I simply used a hand masher rather than dragging out the mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States