Carnation® Creamy Cheesy Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
No rocket science involved here to make these decadently delicious. Because of the clarity of the directions these are easy to prepare with guaranteed results even for the novice cook. As suggested in the recipe, I included chopped green onion and cooked, crumbled bacon. Just like a loaded twice-baked potato without all the fuss! I did substitute half-and-half for the evaporated milk and I simply used a hand masher rather than dragging out the mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Great recipe for mashed potatoes! These are definitely creamy and cheesy! I used red potatoes and left the skins on and added a little garlic and onion powder to taste. I used reduced fat cheddar cheese and Land O Laked light butter to cut down on the fat and calories. I used an electric mixer to get the nice and fluffy. Great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
These were good; just as good as my regular mashed potatoes made with skim milk. Don't know if I will spend the extra money buying the FF evaporated milk. Served with "baked chicken-fried steak with mushroom gravy". We all enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I have been eating a variation of these since I was a kid. We have always used instant mashed potatoes, make enough for 8-10 servings, then add the evap milk, shredded cheese and some durkee french fried onions, put in a greased casserole dish top with more cheese and onions and bake at 350 for 30 minutes. It seems like it's more work than it actually is and the end result is fantastic, not for the calorie counters. I will make this and eat it as a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Yes, they were good. So similar in taste to my own with cheese and butter and regular milk, I can't see any reason to waste the evaporated milk on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
A little dry for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
A decent little receipe and a new idea for evaporated milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneWomanRiot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I used baby yukon gold potatoes and left the skins on. Instead of using a hand mixer my husband, actually, mashed them with potato masher and they turned out delicious! I had my parents over for Christmas Eve dinner and they loved them. Having the leftovers now, and they are just as good if not better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asertell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
These were a nice option when you want potatoes, but not gravy. Loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy Stave

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Used FF sour cream instead of the evaporated milk, plus about 1/3 more of the shredded cheese, and the hubby and son inhaled these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States