Carnation® Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Excelent recipe, but make sure you follow it exactly. If it's turning out gritty, it probably wasn't cooked long enough, the recipe does say a deep caramel color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I think I did something wrong because it came out kinda gritty (sp?) and really light in color.. but it was still good and was gone in a few days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I made this recipe to layer over cheesecake. I took others' advice and made sure not to stir the sugar mixture while it was boiling. It took about 12-13 minutes to turn an amber color and was darkening quite quickly at the end, so make sure to really keep an eye on it. Also, stir the milk in slowly - it really foamed up! I only ended up adding 1/4 cup butter, but the end result was perfect! It smelled delicious and tasted even better. This recipe is definitely staying in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I served over baked brie and with fresh apples slices. Tastes good but not like caramel. Only reason I gave it three stars is because my 9 yr. old son said it still tasted good. Otherwise it would have been two stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
The recipe was thinner than I had hoped. Even though I did not scrape the sides, I had bits crystalized sugar in my sauce. I had to use a strainer to remove them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Midwestern Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Great sauce! Super easy to make, tastes like sugar babies! I love that candy so I was happy, everyone else raved about it too, perfect for dipping caramel apples, or drizzling over that cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mat Owen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Yummy sauce, once I stopped burning batches. Took 3x to get it right. But if course you have to pay close attention to it. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Based on the review by Deneka (Dec 05), I tried making the sauce she described. Well, that was not a success. I just have sweet, buttery milk in a pan. Can't find another recipe elsewhere with the ingredients she gives that may give more instuctions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This is yummy. It saves and reheats well, too. Hardens as it cools and is perfect for caramel apples. Not so "saucy," though...I had to make sure it was nice and hot before it would "drizzle."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This caramel is awesome! The success of this recipe is all in the timing...you must watch it very carefully during the last four minutes of cooking. The first batch I made burned...I think that the type of cookware and range has a definite effect on the outcome. I cooked the second batch 11-1/2 minutes just until the sugar was an amber color and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jasper, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States