Carmel's Crunchy Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Great option for a salad when you want something different from the traditional "lettuce" salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Great starter recipe. Add a little mayo, dill, fresh parsely, chopped red pepper and hard boiled egg. Unsalted peanuts are a great substitute for the cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, it was good although I thought there was too much sour cream. Next time I would reduce the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I've made this a half a dozen times or so and there are NEVER any leftovers!!! As written, the dressing is a little bland for my taste, and although I've toyed around, I've yet to find the perfect one spice blended for my picky palate. Recently, my favorite dressing is half Miracle Whip and half ranch dressing. I'll post again when I perfect it!!! I do add a jar of chopped pimentos and a handful of shredded cheddar cheese for color, and garnish with a paprika sprinkled, sliced or wedged hard boiled egg. This is a great pot luck dish, sure to be one of a kind on a table surrounded by a half a dozen bowls of baked beans and another half dozen of green bean casseroles... Dare to be different!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pie Hole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Not bad, I liked it better when I mixed in some Good Seasonings dressing mix or other seasoning mixes. Easy, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was okay but wasn't great. Husband loved the bacon-y crunch. Also, I used cutting celery rather than celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I love this salad. Have been making it for years since my mother-in-law gave it to me. Everyone likes it whenever I take it to a potluck or BBQ, even people who don't think they like peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I made this recipe for a Mother's Day Brunch at our church. I was one of the last tables to get through the line and there was NONE left when I got there, and the people who'd had it were looking for seconds! Glad I took a few bites to "test taste" it before the brunch! My kids, ages 3, 6 & 13, actually devoured it the 2nd time I made it! I'm planning to make it for a company luncheon tomorrow too! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is good, mom's is better. You really can't put the cashews and bacon in too long before serving - cause the texture is just all wrong when they have sat in the sour cream. We always use water chestnuts instead of the boring celery - and the salt and pepper should have measurements - because when you say "to taste" to people and they call the salad too bland - well does anyone else think that could be a seasoning issue? We added enough salt and pepper that it wasn't boring - but really - I have to call mom to get the real recipe, because I remember this being super tasty around her table. Thanks for trying...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
It was OK...kind of bland it needed something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States