Carla's Fruit Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
This was an excellent fruit dip (and a huge hit). I did follow others advice and used 8 oz of cream cheese rather than 3. I think that made a huge difference. I also used extra creamy cool whip which made it thicker (and made it stick to the fruit more!). I used strawberry cream cheese, but think it would also be excellent with pineapple or mixed berry cream cheese. Whipping the cream cheese prior to adding the marshmallow cream and whipped topping is a good way to avoid lumps. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
496 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
When I worked at Safeway we made our own fruit dip for our fruit trays. We used a 16 oz. Cool Whip - 8 oz. cream cheese - small jar of marshmallow cream & a can of Eagle Brand. Try this I think you will like the addidion of the Eagle Brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
332 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
LOVE THIS! I'm always tempted to eat a spoonful all by itself! After making this at least a dozen times for family & work get-togethers, I still get compliments. I use 8oz flavored cream cheese, and mix in a few tablespoons of powdered sugar after everything else is blended together. I've used plain, pineapple, strawberry, honey nut, and blueberry cream cheese and they all turn out great. Some work better with certain kinds of fruit, but apples are always a favorite. Try strawberries, pineapple, honeydew, cantaloupe, graham crackers, ginger snaps, etc. I typically make the night before and it always tastes great. Keeps in the refrigerator VERY well... longer than the fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAMMYSAUCE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
I have made this twice. The first time I used the "Extra Creamy" Cool Whip. The second time I just used the regular Cool Whip. It was definitely better, creamier, and easier to dip the first time. I also used the strawberry cream cheese. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This is excellent.I'm tempted to try it as a frosting sometime! Definitely use the full 8 oz. of cream cheese and not quite the whole container of whipped cream. This makes a thicker dip that sticks to fruit better. Great with vanilla or a little OJ concentrate. Might be good with a splash of Frangelico or Amaretto liqueur as well. We like it with apple slices or strawberries. Makes a great dish for a a baby shower or other get-together. I slice apples and dip them in acidulated water (water + lemon juice), and arrange them on a platter with this dip. It doesn't last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton Freewater, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
This is great! I made it for a party, served it with strawberries,cantelope,honeydew,and pineapple chunks, and everyone loved it! I,too, added 8 oz. of cream cheese and a little vanilla and it came out perfectly. I whipped the cream cheese first, then whipped in the marshmallow cream, then the whipped topping. Absolutely no little lumps of cream cheese. Yes.it made quite a lot, but no one in my family complained about HAVING to eat what was left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
My guess is that if you follow this recipe exactly the consistency will be perfect. Failing to follow my own advice I used 4 oz. of cream cheese and 8 oz. of marshmallo creme. It was delicious, but a little thick and I can never leave a recipe alone, so I added a splash of Grand Marnier to taste and then thinned it with milk. Everybody loved it! I'm thinking of trying pineapple juice and rum next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I always stick the marshmallow cream in the microwave on about 10 seconds to make it easier to mix. Be careful though, much more than 10 seconds and it will be liquid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Absolutely awesome! I used fat free cool whip, fat free cream cheese & marshmallow creme (i think all of it is fat free). It was unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
Very delicious! I found it hard to pass up, as did a lot of my guests. Makes a bunch...next time I would 1/2 the recipe. Thanks~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States