Caribbean White Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I didn't have any sazon packet, so I used more cilantro, more garlic, and added paprika and more cumin to compensate. I used butternut squash rather than calabaza. It was sweet, but with the added cilantro (I used about 4 sprigs), and about 2 tsp of cumin and paprika each, it was a great combination of sweet and savory. We ate it over white rice. My kids loved it (always a plus), and I thought it was really yummy too. Will definitely make again. I'm always looking for recipes with strong flavor, but without heat, as my kids are more sensitive to heat. This one was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
One of the best chilies ever. It had just the right amount of spices (and I do like spice!). Perfect for the fall weather. Serve with cornbread and pumpkin butter, or some coconut shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suerte126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I found these a little too sweet with the squash. It was a lot of work for a dish that tasted like sweet squash and little else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Plu~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lucerne, California, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
We wanted to serve this as a main dish although, judging by the serving size, this would only make a small side dish. We used a whole onion, a whole green pepper, and half of an acorn squash and around a cup of dried white beans instead. With these adjustments, I would say this recipe makes around 4 servings, although they're still on the small side for a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
We had this dish last night and it was sooo good, each one of us repeated twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This recipe was delicious- I used butternut squash in place of calabaza- Will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
excellent instead of the green pepper, onion, garlic, cilantro i used my home made sofrito (almost same thing). i omited the bouillon and salt and added some diced ham and throw it into the sofrito when your simmering it in the beginning and a couple diced olives never hurt anything :) but i dont use them all time. great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhoenixMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chamberlain, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Freeport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe. However, I ommited that pumkin and cumin and substituted vegetable broth for the water and bullion. I will make this again Maybe with the pumpkin next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
With several changes, this recipe is a favorite. I added 2 cups of butternut squash in place of the 1/4 cup of calabaza and I also used an entire bunch of cilantro instead of one sprig. This was a hit at my families Christmas get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
So good! I used Jamaican Jerk seasoning and yellow summer squash. A few red pepper flakes for heat and some brown sugar for sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Pork Shank with White Beans

Comforting, rustic pork shank is braised with creamy white beans.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States