Caribbean Sweet Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
A nice switch up for potato salad. The dressing is really good and the peanuts a nice crunchy complement. Maybe a little too much onion and the sweet potato makes more sense than the russet in this salad because it adds flavor obviously. Pretty solid though and definitely something you can add too as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
Okay, but didn't seem to have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
My husband and I both really like this. We rarely eat regular potatoes anymore, so I used 2 sweet potatoes. I had a home made dark mustard dressing on hand so I added lime juice to it. I'm curious what the leftovers will taste like tomorrow. I purposefully added the cucumber to just what was served so we won't have the weeping cucumbers overnight that some people mentioned. Served with Cajun pork loin from this site and sauteed turnip greens. A really nice combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
Doubled the recipe and made this as a side dish for a cookout. I thought the flavor turned out great--had my doubts when I saw the unique combination of ingredients, but somehow it all worked! My only problem was that the sweet potatoes turned to mush. When I mixed the ingredients together, the sweet potatoes didn't retain their shape and just kind of blended into the "sauce." Maybe I cooked them too long? Never made a potato salad with sweet potatoes before, so I'll have to be more careful next time--and I definitely will make this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I love it! Made it today and used all fresh ingredients...my neighbor's homegrown corn and cucumbers, and cilantro from my garden. I don't usually follow recipes to the letter and decided not to add mustard or peanuts. I used olive oil and canola oil and added more lime. I also used more potatoes and corn. But the basis of this recipe is divine. Great alternative to regular potato salad and will withstand the heat for those picnics and BBQs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Was very bland. Needed more of everything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
We omitted the russet potato and used only sweet potatoes for this recipe. We also used olive oil and slightly increased the cilantro. I didn't have a red onion and substituted green onions for this. Turned out terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
A tasty, healthy, low calorie winner, particularly with reduced oil. It's a favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shadowbright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I rate it 4 only because it needed a little more kick in spicing. Maybe more lime? More caribbean flavoring? It was an interesting recipe to eat and make and it looked beautiful on the table with our other caribbean dishes. Will repeat if we go with a repeat caribbean theme!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Martens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
A new favorite in our house even though I forgot to add the peanuts. I seeded the cucumber. Served this with jerk pork topped with mango salsa and fresh brussel sprouts. Looking forward to making this again...so refreshing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States