Caribbean-Style Sofrito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I'm Puerto Rican and I make my own Sofrito, but I was interested in trying this with all the tomatoes as traditionally Puerto Ricans do not put tomatoes of any kind in their sofrito. It was ok but needed a little salt and pepper in the batch. Also sofrito gains flavor with time otherwise it will be bland. When making a batch of any sort let it sit overnight in the fridge. It could make all the difference in your meal. Also amazing to let your pork or beef marinade in over night. I'll be posting a few authentic recipes soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This is anything but bland, i do not cook beans, soups or many other meals with out sofrito . I make my sofrito the puerto rican style and i have never had a dinner guest who did not ask for my red beans recipe, of course the secret is in the sofrito. Just love my sofrito!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Not the sofrito I was looking for. Margie's Cuban Sofrito is the closest I've found to what I know as Sofrito. I guess Sofrito is like Ragu, your mama's is always best. This had no flavor. I ended up putting some oil in a pan, and cooking it down to take the bite out of the onion and garlic. I added cumin, salt, pepper, bay leaf and oregano in order to get a similar flavor to what I was looking for. I understand the caribbean has a lot of islands and this mixture of vegetables seems more suited for flavors like allspice, cumin, and habaneros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Authentic or not, I am a huge pepper, cilantro, and tomatillo fan. That being said, I whipped this up for an afternoon snack. I did scale it down from 96 to 24, seeing as I was the only one eating it, and other reviewers stated the original amount makes quite a bit. I'm glad I did. I served this over white rice (tasty!) and also used some as a salsa for tortilla chips (perfect mild "salsa"). Great recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Not bad but as written makes a lot. Perhaps cut in half? Adding lime and salt also really helped spruce up this dish. Makes a tasty addition to seafood, meat, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I can't comment on its authenticity, but I liked the ingredients, and thought I'd give it a go. I initially made it as written but ended up adding salt, more garlic and also some hot sauce. I threw in some jumbo shrimp, and it was really good. Served it over rice. Husband enjoyed it alot. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This 1 last week, and iI did not care for it. It needed more tomatoes to start and to finish it need more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I never had sofrito as a american girl but my cuban hhuband and brothers did not like this one at all. They said maybe it Puerto Rican Sofrito but not Cuban. I don't know. I never had it. I though it was OK. but 5 of them beats me. I was so sad. They like it but was not happy that it was not like there mom's. We all have been tring to find a recipe that is Cuban style sofrito to make ropa vija which is my husband fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I have been doing this for years. This process will cut your cooking time to almost nothing. If you use a plastic spoon to draw from the jar, it will last a lot longer. Excellent tip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I scaled this down and blended into chunks and used in place of salsa. Were all pepper lovers here and it turned out very good. Can't wait to try it in other dishes. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States