Caribbean-Spiced Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This was a wonderful recipe. My kids even ate it without any kind of dipping sauce, which in itself is a thumbs-up review! My husband is allergic to poultry, so I put some on a pork chop for him (and basted with the liquid) and he said it was good on the pork also. I used Bacardi dark rum, as the recipe did not specify which type of rum (light or dark) and that was all I had on hand. Delicious! I will definitely be making this again. The only thing that confused me a little about the recipe was "baste with the sauce"... because my mixture of lime juice/rum/brown sugar was liquid... not sauce-like. I'm not sure if I did something wrong or if what I was basting with is considered "sauce". I'm new at roasting whole chickens. In any case, 5 thumbs up from my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littleboss922

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made two of these chickens for Christmas and the taste was fabulous. This will be my new Caribbean/Jerk seasoning. With all the basting it was definiely moist. The only changes I made was I brushed the chickens with olive oil instead of vegetable oil and I used rum extract with enough water to equal 4 oz (I doubled the recipe because of the 2 chickens). I can't imagine it would have tasted any different, it surely didn't smell any different than the real rum! I think next time I'll try using Malibu Coconut rum just to try a different flavor. This recipe is definitely a keeper! OOPs! I forgot one more thing, I used allspice instead of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndAQT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Sure made the house smell good! We all enjoyed this. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was the first chicken I'd ever roasted. It was beautifully moist -- the meat practically fell off the bones -- but it was certainly a very untraditional taste. I rather liked it, but my husband hated the rub. I guess it is a dish people either love or hate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Oh Wow...amazing. Absolutely amazing and so juicy. Doubled up on lme juice and brown sugar for the marinade because I only had overproof white rum in the house (Ahh good ol' Wray & Nephew...a Jamaican staple). This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Andrew, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: Spring Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I quadrupled the recipe for 2 chickens, and took the advice of reviewers to let it marinate. I rubbed the birds down with the seasoning, made sure to get lots in between the breast and skin, and refrigerated apx. 24 hours before cooking. After that first baste, going in for the second I got hit with a waft of alcohol vapors opening the oven, so don't stick your face right in there like I did! Also, added ground corriander and a dash of allspice to the seasoning mix. The whole thing was AWSOME! However, I can see how not everyone would like this taste, if you're not familiar with caribbean flavors it may seem odd, but I thought it was YUMMY!!! Oh, I also added a bit of Kitchen Bouquet to the rum/lime baste to give better color and it came out gorgeous golden brown. The pan drippings caramelized and as it rested I kept basting. REALLY good recipe, well recieved by my family! PS THX to tat2whttrsh's review, served with Byrdhouse Mushroom Barley Pilaf and it went wonderfully if you're looking for a side...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Stuck to recipe, basted every 20 mins, beautiful tasty skin, wife and kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
One of the best chickens I've ever roasted. Only thing different I did was set the chicken on a bed of coarsely chopped onions to keep the bottom of the roaster from burning. I think when I make this again I'd double the spices and use sliced limes as a bed for the chicken next time. I served this with SunnyByrd's Byrdhouse Mushroom Barley Pilaf only using thyme in place of the basil, to keep the same flavor tone all through dinner. Tasty dinner! NOTE: I cooked mine at 400* because my rice was cooking at that temp. You might want to as well, unless you want to wait a couple hours longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I made this for sunday dinner and my fanily LOVED it. My cousin said he was craving it last night, lol. I used Jamaican White Overproof Rum, and i stuffed the chicken with garlic-mashed potatoes. I also baked it at 400 degrees instead of 350. It was FAB!!! Definitely gonna do it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison J

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States