Caribbean-Spiced Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This was one of the moistest chickens I have ever made. However, it was also the most bland. It didn't seem like any of the spices actually got through to the chicken. I will probably not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
My family really enjoyed this recipe. Nice alturnative to plan roasted chicken..very easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
WOW...this was a winner. My chicken came out a little underdone, but that is relative to the size of the bird and I probably should have given mine about 15 more minutes. I used the convection setting on my oven and the skin was crisp and nicely browned. I will try this on a cut up bird next time and I think this would be outstanding on a pork loin too. Used white rum on this chicken. For pork, I think I would use dark...doubled the sugar and lime juice by the way, so I could baste it more often and also used Mexican brown sugar--It's extra, extra dark and has a great earthy flavor. Lastly and VERY Important...Use the 1/4 t of ginger only if you are using the regular old stuff from the grocery store. If you use a better, fresher brand (like Penzey's) use 1/8 t. People don't realize how much flavor the jarred stuff from the grocery looses as it sits around for years...Served this with Basmatti rice and steamed veg. Drizzeled the pan juice over the rice. Yum...a real keeper. I might even do this to a turkey....hmmmmmmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
OMG!!! If I could give more than 5 stars I would! I used to pride myself on my roasted chicken. But now I consider mine so so at best. This was the best chicken I have ever eaten. It was moist tender and the flavor was divine! My entire family gobbled it up. My 2 year old who has to have ketchup in all meat was going man oh man after every bite with NO ketchup!!! And she ate every bite plus wanted more. Everyone asked for more. I did double everything because I had a 6lb bird and cut up 1 lemon to stuff in the cavity other than that I followed to the "T". I was concerned with the lack of butter but am glad I did not tinker with the recipe by adding some. I will be replacing my roast chicken recipe with this and serving it as often as I can. Thank you so much for this devine recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noble, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Neither my husband or I would like to eat this again. Just not a flavor we cared for. If you like these type of spices you would probable like it then:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MookiePie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I made this for Christmas dinner... rave reviews!!! everyone loved it. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I have never gotten so many compliments on chicken! Followed the recipe exactly, and I have to say, the best chicken ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Instead of turkey we made this chicken and it was delicious a hit at the thanksgiving table
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This recipe was not all that it was suppose to be. The chicken was really spicy as well as it took longer than recommended to cook. I will not be cooking this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. A nice change to the usual roast turkey. Flavours were fab and resulted in a tender, moist, tasty bird. Only change was had to sub spiced rum as that is what I had on hand. A family fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States