Caribbean-Spiced Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I would add more cayenne next time but it was fantastic. Served with rice and corn/black bean salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I have never written a review about a recipe before, but this one deserves it. This chicken was awesome! I added soy sauce to the basting sauce and put in less lime because we're not big fans of citrus flavor. I also added garlic powder to the seasoning. I cooked a 4.4 pound chicken so it took 2 hours. You have to try this recipe! The chicken was sooo flavorful and moist! Thank you for a great chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Good but could be better a little bland but I would increase the amount of spices and marinate over night. I would suggest cooking longer than 90 minutes or at a higher temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Fabulous...I doubled the spices and used canned apples that I crushed up ....OMG...IT WAS GREAT!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This was very good. My husband liked it so much he has asked me to make it once a week. I used Emeril chicken rub instead of all the various spices plus some extra ginger root. Next time I'm going to take the suggestion of one of the reviewers and cook it on 450 at the end to make it crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Instead of roasting, I grill this "Drunken Chicken" from this site-style. I double the marinade and rub-- and inject the chicken with the marinade and the leftover for baste. Injecting the marinade eliminates the "bland chicken meat" problem some reviewers have mentioned. I apply the rub and then I take a beer can that's filled about 2/3 the way up with beer and Italian dressing and place the chicken over it. I put half an onion and some fresh thyme in the neck cavity. I don't brush the leftover marinade on the chicken until it has been cooking about 30 min. or else the rub will fall off. As written 3.5 stars-- with my changes it was definitely a five star. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I've made this twice now and enjoyed it each time. It is true that if you only put the seasoning on the outside the meat won't take on much flavor; but isn't that true of any chicken? Try putting on rub under and outside. I used dark spiced rum in the marinade and also shoved a lime, cut in half, into the cavity of the chicken last time. Thanks for a great new way to roast chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
We try new recipes, from this site, weekly and this was such a let down. So spicey made my nose run, the spices were not a good combination & the cinnamon was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This chicken has a very unique flavor than most chickens. It's delicious! The secret to a moist chicken is to bake it breast side down for half the time and breast side up the rest of the time! Works like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin
Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This was pretty good, but it needs a lot more salt in my opinion. So I'm thinking brine it first. 1/2 teaspoon of salt for the entire chicken did sound off. So I did add a little more, not nearly enough for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States