Caribbean-Spiced Pork Side Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Did not like the oregano with it, but then again, i'm not really an oregano person. I ended up scraping it off the ribs and adding a BBQ sauced called Irene's BBQ sauce that I found on here, and put them back in the oven. Recipes are worth a shot and I like trying new things, but this didn't work for my family. Hopefully the BBQ sauce will mask the pungent oregano flavor. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I thought they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
The ribs turned out pretty good (Despite finding out the ribs I purchased shrank by about 30-40%.). The taste and smell was glorious. I've never had authentic Caribbean-spiced meats, so I have no idea how close it is in taste to it. I thought it tasted really, really good though. The leftover rub in the dish would probably taste great over some mashed potatoes. I forgot to buy the ginger root and the limes, so I kind of substituted the ginger root with pickled ginger diced and no lime zest or juice. I also bought a 5 quart glass baking dish that did not come with a lid, so I ended up covering it with tin foil. I'm not sure if that was the cause of the significant shrinkage of the ribs, but I have another rack left and will try wrapping the ribs and rub in tin foil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KiwiStrawberryBonk

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Put this rub on country style and spareribs - came out better on the country style. One thing we didn't do was tightly cover the ribs while cooking. Flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Ok, I needed a new rib recipe for my hubbies B Day dinner. These were a HIT! I didn't have any ginger. Added some garlic powder to it and used a whole can of frozen OJ., no water,I had no limes so in went the key lime juice. Roasted the ribs for about 5 hours. I made 2 whole racks. Very flavorful, I reduced the sauce and brushed the ribs for a final coating while the ribs were on low. Thank you so much Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I tried this recipe and it was absolutely delicious. Coming from the Caribbean I can say that this is true Caribbean flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucianchef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
These were pretty good, I made them in the crock pot using boneless spare ribs, and they did make the house smell wonderful while they were cooking! I thought they were better the second day though, I let the meat sit in the sauce in the fridge over night, then shredded it and placed it on rolls, along with some cheddar cheese and sweet BBQ sauce, placed it in the broiler and WOW! What a sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I really liked the orange/lime flavor. but I didnt much care for the clove, so nxt time i will leave the clove out. had to cook mine for about 2 hours before removing the cover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Delicious and it feels up the entire house with AMAZING SMELLS. I cut this in half as it was just my husband and I for dinner. I also cut the orange juice down to 1/2 cup and then added 1/2 cup of pineapple juice. We will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jannette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made these for our traditionally untradtional thanksgiving this year and good rave reviews. I made three racks for 7 people and only had enough left over for two plates to send home. The flavor was fantastic, they weren't dry, the lime flavor snuck in but didn't overwhelm, the ginger stood out and the rest blended very nicely. Everyone was pleasently full. The meal was ended with jamaican plantain tarts, also from this site and ......... My best friend made the carribean holiday shrimp and the hard do bread for our appetizer and bread while my adopted little sister made the jamaican rice (also from this site) as a side dish as well. The meal was fantastic and every bit of it was from this site! THANKS AGAIN ALLRECIPES.COM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States