Caribbean Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
My family did not like this at all. Dry and no flavor other than the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I loved this, despite the fact that this tiny little town didn't have any mangos and agave nector; so, am giving it 4 stars. Think maybe a fresh jalepeno would go well too. Will make again and again. Thank you, and will keep an eye out for the agave and mangos. updated: found some mangoes and now give this 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bethel, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Saw the comment about this being too dry and flavorless so I added a good bit more cider vinegar. I also used a mayo alternate at double the recipe, used way more of the habanero hot sauce, cayenne, turmeric, and creole seasoning...all to taste with a good amount of salt and pepper. Oh, also 3 small mangos to balance the spice. Very, very good. I'll add this to my recipe box for sure. So, moral is, taste the dressing as you go and add to it if you think it needs more oomph. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I never liked slaw until I had this, never even wanted to try it. Anything with mangoes will do it for me though, so I gave it a shot and I loved it, as well as my family. I changed it up a little bit as I went, I didn't have cilantro or apple cider vinegar, and I used dijon mustard instead of regular mustard. It turned out great and I ate the leftovers first thing the next day. Thanks All Recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
it was a little bland - if i make it again i'll tweak the seasoning i did really like the texture and the mango was a great touch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I made this Caribbean Slaw for a Caribbean-themed dinner party. The guests loved it. Everyone was particularly raving about the dressing. I was probably a little heavy on the habanero hot sauce, but it gave it a little more kick. I will definitely keep this recipe and make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
We really liked this recipe. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This slaw turned out to be a perfect side for our Caribbean Night dinner. I made it exactly as the recipe stated and wouldn't change anything. I didn't find it dry. It was great the next day, too. Thanks for a fresh recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This was a touch labor intensive, that's just a personal opinion though as I don't like chopping vegetables on end ;) I really enjoyed the way the flavors melded, the agave and habanero were especially delicious! Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I love this recipe, it was very colourful, and I found it had lots of flavour. The key to great flavour is using good fresh produce. The only change I made was using both purple and green cabbage for the colour, as well I didn't have any agave on hand so upon doing my research for an alternate, I used a simple sugar method, (2parts sugar 1 part water) this worked great!! I served it with pulled chicken on a bun with ranch dressing!!! Very easy, very Yummy, will be using this one again, and again Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States