Caribbean Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I adjusted a few things because I didn't have all of the ingredients. I substituted about a teaspoon ground red pepper for the hot sauce (we don't like spicey), 1/3 olive oil based mayo for the mayo and yogurt and bagged cole slaw for the cabbage and carrots. My family loved it! Thanks for a great base recipe! I was in a pinch. It was fast, easy and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
We just came back from Jamaica and I was craving the Caribbean flavors we had while there. I made this with just a couple do tweaks. I used just a bit more mayonnaise, substituted sugar for the agave nectar(I'm allergic), and used raisins instead of the other items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I made this for my mother and husband and we did not care for it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Made this today with extras I had from my bountiful basket. I used half of the cabbage to start and used red, yellow, and orange bell peppers that I needed to use up. I also only had white onion and dried cilantro, not the fresh stuff and honey instead of the agave. I loved it! I ended up adding more cabbage at the end because there was quite a lot of dressing still. Not sure why people say it's dry unless they had a large cabbage? Anyway, 5 stars! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I love this recipe, it was very colourful, and I found it had lots of flavour. The key to great flavour is using good fresh produce. The only change I made was using both purple and green cabbage for the colour, as well I didn't have any agave on hand so upon doing my research for an alternate, I used a simple sugar method, (2parts sugar 1 part water) this worked great!! I served it with pulled chicken on a bun with ranch dressing!!! Very easy, very Yummy, will be using this one again, and again Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This was a touch labor intensive, that's just a personal opinion though as I don't like chopping vegetables on end ;) I really enjoyed the way the flavors melded, the agave and habanero were especially delicious! Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This slaw turned out to be a perfect side for our Caribbean Night dinner. I made it exactly as the recipe stated and wouldn't change anything. I didn't find it dry. It was great the next day, too. Thanks for a fresh recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
We really liked this recipe. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I made this Caribbean Slaw for a Caribbean-themed dinner party. The guests loved it. Everyone was particularly raving about the dressing. I was probably a little heavy on the habanero hot sauce, but it gave it a little more kick. I will definitely keep this recipe and make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
it was a little bland - if i make it again i'll tweak the seasoning i did really like the texture and the mango was a great touch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States