Caribbean Rum Punch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
For me this cocktail turned out just not bad. I think orange juice overwhelmed here a little. I used dark rum that I brought from the Dominican Republic (one of the best I think). And I didn't use angustura bitters. Not bad recipe to try, but it probably wouldn't be in my favorite cocktail recipe list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I didn't add the simple syrup because I don't like drinks to be too sweet. Also, I couldn't find bitters at the liquor store, so I used Island punch pucker. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Just Like Jamaican Sunset Cruise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I used what I had on hand which was orange/banana/strawberry juice, light rum, lime juice, & simple syrup. It was AMAZING. I can see these sneaking up on you. I gave some to my husband and he was shocked at how much alcohol was in one glass. I can see that with the guidelines of the rhyme at the top you can make anything you want, just so long as it sounds good. I can see this being amazing with malibu :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Made as stated. Turned out a little sweeter than I like, but otherwise great. Next time I will try with more watered down orange juice or something, because I would not want to drink more than a glass or two of this with it being so sweet. Guests said it was good! Oh, for my simple syrup I used half white and half brown sugar; but I know that would not contribute to the overall sweetness of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
A great punch. I thought it would serve 12 easily, but I had to make a second pitcher, everyone loved it! Wonderful balance of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garden Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Strong stuff ;-) I used sweetened lime juice instead of the fresh limes, because that's what I had available. I also added pineapple juice for more flavor and to cut dilute the alcohol some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Great recipe! For anyone who may need a bit of clarification (like me), here is what I discovered. It takes about 6 limes to get a cup of juice. You can make simple syrup by heating equal parts sugar and water in a saucepan until the sugar dissolves. Simple syrup and bitters can also be purchased rather inexpensively at the liquor store. I used Meyers dark rum and grated about a half teaspoon of fresh nutmeg over the top of the whole batch and stirred it in. The punch has a really wonderful flavor and a bit of a delayed effect so watch out! Thanks for sharing, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
292 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACMOORE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
WOW! I love it! I call it Pirate Punch!! I used key lime juice and some awesome organic pure maple syrup instead of simple syrup, and I used some pineapple rum we happened to have. I didn't have any bitters and I didn't add nutmeg. It is so good!!! This is my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This was a hit. Everyone asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States