Caribbean Pasta with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
What's great about this recipe is that the sauce can be made beforehand. I made it the day before I served the dish and it really gave the flavors a chance to blend together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
My husband loved this dish. I also thoroughly enjoyed the first few bites until my inadequate tongue couldn't handle the spice. (Should have listened when I made him taste test the crazy Japanese chilli paste I bought and he said it was hot even for him). I also used ground allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by concretejungleprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
Fantastic. Made this for my boyfriends tiki party and everyone wanted the recipe. I left out the cilantro (ick) and used ground allspice instead of the whole berries and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
this is a GREAT! although, there is no way i could fit 1.5 pounds of shrimp in that sauce + the 8 oz. of pasta! we cut about each of those in half and it was incredible :=) *just be sure NOT let the shrimp overcook in the sauce. ours were borderline-chewy! Not so great. I will be making this again next week!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
I'm always looking for new and different ways to prepare shrimp and prawns and I found a "keeper" in this one! I did follow the advice of the reviewers that had boldly gone before me in that I used ground allspice but other than that, I didn't need to tinker with the recipe very much at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Everyone loved it, and it was so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
Made this for my husband and I on Valentines Day 2002.He raved that it was Delicous after each Bite! It was an easy recipe to make and we both loved it! This will be a Recipe I will make Quite often,for guests as well as the two of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
This meal was excellent!! I didn't have any Grand Marnier so I substituted with orange juice, it worked!! YUMMY! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
This is an excellent and unique pasta dish. Even though I used a food processor, it does take some time to prepare the sauces, so if you want to save time, prepare them the day before. I will also try ground allspice vs. the whole berries. For me, biting into a whole allspice berry detracts from the enjoyment of this dish just a bit. My other personal preferences are to add 2 chopped jalapeños to heat the dish up a bit and double the Grand Marnier. I like the effect of the Grand Marnier and since it’s boiled, all of the alcohol is removed. Finally the cilantro really brings out the flavors. Don't leave it out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
This is very good, everyone in the family liked it and the shrimp were of course a hit. I followed the recipe to the letter EXCEPT, powdered allspice instead of berries (it tasted fine), and no cilantro, sorry to the earlier reviewer but there was none around! And it's just great that way, tangy and tasty and a bit spicy. Oh, didn't have chili paste so I shook on some hot sauce. Use fresh ingredients and let the sauces sit for a few hours in the fridge, it's easier time-wise and tastes better too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States