Caribbean Nachos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
These are not your average nachos but they tasted fantastic. I omitted the peppers but otherwise followed the recipe. All the different flavors in this dish blended together well to make this a delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
The many reviews that added black beans sounded pretty good and I wanted it to be filling, because it was our dinner. Since my shrimp was raw and large, I cut it in more bite sized pieces, put the pineapple pieces in the cooking sauce first until they were tender, mixed in the drained black beans and then added in my shrimp until it was just starting to turn pink. I then drained the liquid off very well in a strainer, and spread that over the veggie mixture. A trick I've learned to keep your nachos from being soggy is to put most the shredded cheese on top of the chips, then top with the veggies since they need the heat to cook, and putting a thick layer of cheese on top of all your veggies traps the moisture and chips soak it up. Throw more cheese on the top the last minute or so of cooking until it all melts. Your chips stay crunchy. My son said this was the best nachos he's ever had, and he is 25 and eats out a lot with friends. Both my husband and I thought is was a fun summer meal, and it was very filling. All this covered a 15X10 pan, and half of a second pan...so it makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Tried these nachos tonight and we really liked them. As another reviewer suggested, I added black beans and used leftover bbq jerk chicken breast. It was yummy! Would be great for a party or BBQ! We had margaritas with them and really enjoyed the combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
These were the most amazing food ever! We regularly eat nachos as a dinner meal and are going to add this recipe to our regularly made dishes. Since there are just two of us...this recipe was too much. So, we will cut the recipe in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I made these for a super bowl party. WOW I had to make 2 more batches because the first one only last 2 minutes. These were fantastic and I wil be making them very often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cherokee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I add black beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
it really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
In the midst of watching the Pats game and eating these nachos. Everyone loves them, a great twist on a game-time favorite. Used the smallest shrimp I could find (salad shrimp) and they are just the right size. Don't know if we'll have room for the half-time pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGONFLYJILL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Wonderful recipe. I used jerk chicken instead of shrimp. It was a success and even the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I have made this twice in the last two weeks for different events. Every one loved it! It is a very unusual combination, and it presents beautifully! I just microwaved the Jerk sauce and I coated both shrimp and the pineapple with the sauce. I also used shredded pepper jack chees as a reviewer below suggested. My father in law said it was the best appetizer he has ever had, and he has dined in some of the top restaurants in the country!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Jalapeno Nachos

See how to make simple, spicy nachos with shrimp and jalapenos.

Mexican Potato Nachos

See how to make hearty beef and bean nachos with a layer of potatoes!

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States