Caribbean Holiday Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
This shrimp recipe is really wonderful! Very easy to make - definately let it sit at least four hours as recipe says - also rinse shrimp off and pat dry before starting (I know this is common sense, but I totally forgot to do this the first time and it does make a difference!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
The seasonings were delicious, but totally overwhelmed the shrimp rather than just accenting the shrimp. You couldn't taste the shrimp flavor at all, just the cilantro, lime, ginger, and garlic flavors. I cut the crushed red pepper flakes in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
Huge hit at my Christmas progressive dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I made this recipe without adding the oil. It was delicious and Weight-Watchers friendly. Also, I put the shrimp in the marinade while they were still hot from cooking. I am thinking it made it even more flavorful. I will be sharing this recipe with all of my Weight-Watchers friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY SINK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
My husband and I loved this recipe. It is perfect as a cold appetizer with toothpicks. I used it on my salad (cold) and used the left over juice as a dressing. I liked it so much I even tried it hot over noodles mixed with my favorite veggies, a little white wine and the left over juice. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
This one's a keeper! After the shrimp were gone, I saved the marinade and used it for dunking fresh veggies. For those who don't like quite so much of a bite (note: this *doesn't* reduce the heat, just changes the direction), try adding half a cup of brown sugar - it mellows out the bite of the lime juice a bit, without making this a "sweet and sour" recipe. Great stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
Simply Divine! I made these for a large potluck this week, and people were asking around, "who brought the shrimp-I have to get the recipe!" I made exactly as specified, except substituted brown sugar for the white. Will make again and again - thank you, Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paul, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
This was a big hit. Wasn't sure how to serve it, so set out the shrimp in the sauce with toothpicks. When the shrimp were gone, people were dipping bread into the remaining sauce. Cutting the cilantro in half worked for me. Plan to toss this onto some pasta one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Delicious. I served hot right off the grill, the biggest hit of my BBQ. They tasted great cooked over some alder wood chips to give it a tiny bit of sweet smokey flavor. My only critique, just a tiny bit much lime and sugar... i'm not a big sweet n sour guy, so next time I'll half the sugar and use just a few tablespoons lime juice. Otherwise, fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
these were good but a little too spicy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Shrimp and Jalapeno Nachos

See how to make simple, spicy nachos with shrimp and jalapenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States