Caribbean Health Drink Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Too thick and the flavor was a bit too sour with the kiwi and pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Good stuff. Didn't have any pineapples, so I added 1/2 C of OJ, as well as 6 oz of plain yogurt. I liked it enough and so did my 2 yo. I great way to get him to get the benefits of vegetables...so that's good enough for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
A smoothie with a carrot? Wasn't sure I was going to like that, but I did. The flavors blended well together and it made for a nice filling breakfast. I would have liked it a little more on the tart side, but that aside, a good drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
The smoothie was terrible. We used all the ingredients listed, We spent about 30 min. Chopping all the fruits and veggies. We were really disappointed on how it all came out. To make it taste a little bit better we added 2 tbsp. and it tasted much better. All in all it was not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I was so focused on the reviews on this one I didn't even realize I forgot a major ingredient. At least one of the reviews was saying it was hard to blend and they had a good blender. I looked at the ingredient list and did not see a liquid and knew I would have the same trouble, so I added 3/4 of a cup of orange juice and then had no problem. I left out the kiwi because I don't care for it. The ingredient I accidentally forgot was the pineapple and it still tasted good. I used store bought shredded carrots, per that reviewers suggestions also. I had to use a frozen banana cut up because it was what I had. I ended up adding a packet of Truvia because it seemed like it needed a little sweetening, and I don't say that often. Overall, even though I tweaked it, the final result was good and like another reviewer said it was a great way to hide in a vegetable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Very thick. Next time I will add some water with the ice to thin it out a bit. Unless you have a heavy duty blender I can see this being difficult to blend till smooth. For those that would be using a standard blender perhaps grating the carrot will help. The tartness of the kiwi helps to balance the sweetness from the apple. I like that this does not include added sugar, the fruits make it sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I added a cup of apple juice to make it blend smoother. I also used frozen banana in place of the ice cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salmon, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Good blend of flavors, and an easy way to "hide" a vegetable in a fruit drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Shortcake Drink

Frozen strawberries, amaretto, ice cream and vodka blended into a cocktail.

Breakfast Zinger Juice

Use your juicer to make a super-healthy drink with beets, carrots, and apples.

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States