Caribbean Grilled Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
These were delicious...kinda changed the spices cuz I didnt add the hot sauce but I used a little cayenne and papricka. Also added a lil dijon mustard. Soooo good on the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
These were amazing! I made them for a dinner party and they were a huge hit. I used fake crab meat because I'm allergic to shellfish. Also, I didn't have any chilli sauce so I substituted a jalepeno, and it was perfect. I also added a tomato to the salsa. I'm making these again tonight to impress my mother at another dinner party, and they will definately be a staple in my recipe box. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swansea, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
These were absolutly wonderful. I will definatly make these again. Even my four year old daughter who dislikes seafood ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
The crabcakes were yummy, but the mango salsa, as other mention, is what makes this dish. To make the crabcakes gluten free, I left out the breadcrumbs, reduced the mayo to 1/2 cup, and as other suggested, I added Old Bay. I also added a pat of butter in the pan with olive oil instead of vegetable oil. My husband couldn't stop raving about the dish. I think he'd eat the salsa plain. We're not fans of cilantro, so I substituted parsley. I'll definitely use the salsa recipe for other dishes, like pork chops. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
These crab cakes were OUTSTANDING!! As another member wrote: 'the best crab cakes I've ever had'. The mango salso was excellent and a complete surprise. So freakin' fresh! Love love love your recipe and will make for years to come. Cheers, Dane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is without a doubt, one of the best recipes I have reviewed on this site. I made the crabcakes exactly as written, they formed beautifully and kept their shape nicely while sauteing. Good ratio of crab to cake, the crab was not overpowered by the other ingredients. This salsa is excellent, I used jarred mango from the produce isle, which made it a snap to put together. I drizzled a little EVOO in to keep everything together. Served over Marrikesh Express mango salsa couscous. Sincere thanks for a great recipe, well done! Update 4/9/09 Grilled these on the BBQ last night, that smokey, grilled taste makes them even better. Held together prefectly. Just terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was a great recipe. My boyfriend absolutely loved it. I cut down on the onion and added extra jalapeno to suit our tastes. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
These were the best crabcake I have made I could not get mango that was ripe so I used a tropical mix to make the salsa and boy was it good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Wow! This is so good! I made these with Italian bread crumbs since they were on hand, and used my roasted red pepper aioli for a dressing. They were amazing! I can't wait to try the mango, maybe with some coconut panko for the bread crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBECCADK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This was a wonderful recipe. Following my tradition, I stuck closely to the directions and ingredients so that I could give it a fair review after. I used canned crabmeat because it was a lot cheaper, and I also used light mayo to cut down on the calories. For anyone else, I would suggest making the salsa with more mango and less onion. The onion amount was a little overpowering, and we stunk afterwards! I think you can also cut down a lot on the mayo amount--just throw two heaping teaspoons in there, and it will be fine. This is one of the few recipes that takes just a little work, and somehow ends up tasting spectacular. I would even call this recipe "company worthy." One tip--my bowl of crab mixture did NOT make 16 regular crabcakes--it only made 7 small cakes that had medium to low size thickness. The length of the cakes was about the length of the bottom of a water bottle.) It was enough for me and my husband, but if you're cooking for a family, I would suggest doubling the recipe. This is a great recipe to make when you don't have too much time to cook. You can also adjust some things to make it more healthy--ie: light mayo, wheat breadcrumbs, etc. This was a fulfilling meal that did not make us feel lethargic--we were able to go the gym soon after eating. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States