Caribbean Grilled Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
These were amazing! I made them for a dinner party and they were a huge hit. I used fake crab meat because I'm allergic to shellfish. Also, I didn't have any chilli sauce so I substituted a jalepeno, and it was perfect. I also added a tomato to the salsa. I'm making these again tonight to impress my mother at another dinner party, and they will definately be a staple in my recipe box. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swansea, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This was a wonderful recipe. Following my tradition, I stuck closely to the directions and ingredients so that I could give it a fair review after. I used canned crabmeat because it was a lot cheaper, and I also used light mayo to cut down on the calories. For anyone else, I would suggest making the salsa with more mango and less onion. The onion amount was a little overpowering, and we stunk afterwards! I think you can also cut down a lot on the mayo amount--just throw two heaping teaspoons in there, and it will be fine. This is one of the few recipes that takes just a little work, and somehow ends up tasting spectacular. I would even call this recipe "company worthy." One tip--my bowl of crab mixture did NOT make 16 regular crabcakes--it only made 7 small cakes that had medium to low size thickness. The length of the cakes was about the length of the bottom of a water bottle.) It was enough for me and my husband, but if you're cooking for a family, I would suggest doubling the recipe. This is a great recipe to make when you don't have too much time to cook. You can also adjust some things to make it more healthy--ie: light mayo, wheat breadcrumbs, etc. This was a fulfilling meal that did not make us feel lethargic--we were able to go the gym soon after eating. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is without a doubt, one of the best recipes I have reviewed on this site. I made the crabcakes exactly as written, they formed beautifully and kept their shape nicely while sauteing. Good ratio of crab to cake, the crab was not overpowered by the other ingredients. This salsa is excellent, I used jarred mango from the produce isle, which made it a snap to put together. I drizzled a little EVOO in to keep everything together. Served over Marrikesh Express mango salsa couscous. Sincere thanks for a great recipe, well done! Update 4/9/09 Grilled these on the BBQ last night, that smokey, grilled taste makes them even better. Held together prefectly. Just terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
These crab cakes were OUTSTANDING!! As another member wrote: 'the best crab cakes I've ever had'. The mango salso was excellent and a complete surprise. So freakin' fresh! Love love love your recipe and will make for years to come. Cheers, Dane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This was fabulous! The salsa is a must...it tastes wonderful. And grilling them is definitely the way to go. I doubled the recipe for the cakes and got seven meal sized cakes...about hamburger patty size. So I think the yield is wrong, but otherwise...don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Payette, Idaho, USA
Living In: New Waterford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
It was good. We thought there was way too much onion(I got one of the smaller ones in the store).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
These were fantastic. By far the best crab cakes I've ever had. I don't even like mangoes and I LOVED the combination of crab cake and mango salsa. We'll definitely make this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
We altered the recipe to make it less hot for more sensitive palates -- we just didn't put in any hot sauce or jalepenos. It still turned out FABULOUS! Best crab cakes my husband has ever had....and I'll be making them again when my in-laws visit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
absolutely amazing!! I used ranch instead of mayo and panko breadcrumbs for lots of flavor. they held together great and still came out fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Great crab cakes. I put the salsa in a food processer and made more of a sauce, it was great. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States