Caribbean Grilled Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Great crab cakes. I put the salsa in a food processer and made more of a sauce, it was great. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
These were soooooo good! Best crab cakes ever! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Izblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
We really like these crab cakes. I make it with fresh crab right out the Pacific. For storing fresh crab: cook crab same day caught, clean and freeze the crab with in two days. If you can't freeze right away either clean it all out of the shell or clean the back and all insides out and rinse off the yellow. Pack in cooler bottom up with layers of ice. Drain off water from cooler to prevent crab from getting soft. Pack cleaned crab meat in zip-lock bags before putting on ice. Freeze crab, remove crab when frozen and vacuum pack it for better storage. De-thaw crab, rinse and put some fresh lemon juice on it. No one knows it isn't fresh. Fresh ocean crab will die in fresh water. If you need to keep them alive use ocean water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenCosta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
My first attempt at crab cakes was good. I tried to "lighten" up the recipe using low-fat & fat-free items. They were good. I did not make the salsa to go with them. But plan to next time I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Thorson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I baked mine, they browned nicely (350 20 minutes). Didn't get rave reviews though. I had a rather large buffet for the family on a midweek nite (it was HOT out) so that might have curbed peoples appetites. No complaints but no one asked for the recipe either. I will try again and grill them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam from L.I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sound Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
We altered the recipe to make it less hot for more sensitive palates -- we just didn't put in any hot sauce or jalepenos. It still turned out FABULOUS! Best crab cakes my husband has ever had....and I'll be making them again when my in-laws visit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This was fabulous! The salsa is a must...it tastes wonderful. And grilling them is definitely the way to go. I doubled the recipe for the cakes and got seven meal sized cakes...about hamburger patty size. So I think the yield is wrong, but otherwise...don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Payette, Idaho, USA
Living In: New Waterford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This was a simple recipe, although I had to improvise a bit! I added a dash of smokey paprika, used panko bread crumbs, light mayo and served with Thai sweet chile sauce as well as store bought mango salsa... Due to conditions beyond my control, I had to bake my crab cakes in a 375 oven for 20-25 min. They browned up nicely and came out great. My husband raved about them (and he wasn't just being nice)... I'll make these again next week for a party without any fear of failure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
These crab cakes were very easy to make, and absolutely delicious! I used 1lb fresh canned crab meat, but it was the crab meat from the 'claw', which is less expensive but was still just as good. For a healthier version i crushed up whole wheat saltine crackers very fine in place of bread crumbs and used light mayo, and just a heaping tablespoon of it. I probably could've gotten away with even less. 3/4 cup definately would've been way to much mayo. Aside from those changes, I followed the rest of the recipe as was. I cooked them in a pan on top of the stove in olive oil. Perfect! The mango salsa was phenominal, i used 2 mangos and 1/2 of a red onion, then followed the rest of the salsa recipe as was. This recipie served 3 adults in my opinion, if you have a big household of alot of hungry people, definately double it! I will definately make this again, sooooooooooo good! And easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I have tried other crab cake recipes from here, and I have to admit this is better. I didn't wait and chill th formed patties, I just went ahead and cooked them, and they pretty much stayed put. No breaking apart at all. Will keep this recipe but tinker with it to get the desired flavor I am looking for as it was still missing something. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Rivas aka Pablo's Hottie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States