Caribbean Fruity Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Added some more spices (Indian chat masala) and fruits were based on what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I just made this and it is absolutely delicious. My grocery store didn't have the papaya, so I just used extra mango. I can't imagine how much better it would be with the papaya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Great salsa! For those looking for a little more heat, I substituted a habenero pepper instead of the jalepeno (DO NOT use more than one). I also grilled the fresh pineapple slices and the red onion before dicing them and tossing them into the mixture. Once chilled, it got rave reviews at our Cinco de Mayo party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeterG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was great! I put it over grilled chicken for dinner and mixed it with cottage cheese for lunch. A little too spicy to use for breakfast like recommended, but perfect for other meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
My husband really liked this. I thought it was OK, just not worth the effort it took to dice everything. I used it over some grilled chicken and rice. It made for a healthy light dinner but I won't be running to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is a great fruity salsa to serve with white fish. Canned fruits can be used too without lack of flavor. Easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Loved the recipe! It went over very well with my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liv_nikole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I made this upon request for my son's 14th birthday. It was a huge hit with the adults, but those pesky teenagers would not even try it. Well, except for my son and he LOVED it. Perect combo of fruitiness and spicyness. I quadrupled the recipe and ended up not having quite enough mango, but it didn't matter. And I had to use canned pineapple because no fresh was available. I used the exact recipe and at first it tasted a little salty. But by the next day, it was perfect. I think it could have even used more jalapenos. This will be on my go to list from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
In the months that I have used this site, this is the first time I felt that I absolutely had to give homage to a recipe. I served this to for a party a while back and the feedback was amazing. This was a bunch of twenty-something year olds and by the end of the night I had given directions on how to get the recipe at least a dozen times. I did make a slight change. I left out the chopped mint on accident, as I was rushed to get it out on the table. However I'm not a huge fan of mint anyways and the salsa still went over amazingly. Also I used Tostito's Hint-of-Lime Tortilla Chips and I think they complimented it nicely. One final remark: Don't skimp on the Red Onion or the Jalapeno. I don't handle spice very well but if you de-seed the jalapeno well it won't be an issue and the two, especially the red onion, give the salsa a necessary "bite" to it that you need in order for it to be a salsa and not too fruity. Huge rave and will definitely be using this for parties more often. Make sure to make it the night of if you want it chunky, otherwise it gets liquidy within a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Made this for a salsa contest at work and won!! I doubled the recipe and added a drizzle of honey for added sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States