Caribbean Fruity Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
In the months that I have used this site, this is the first time I felt that I absolutely had to give homage to a recipe. I served this to for a party a while back and the feedback was amazing. This was a bunch of twenty-something year olds and by the end of the night I had given directions on how to get the recipe at least a dozen times. I did make a slight change. I left out the chopped mint on accident, as I was rushed to get it out on the table. However I'm not a huge fan of mint anyways and the salsa still went over amazingly. Also I used Tostito's Hint-of-Lime Tortilla Chips and I think they complimented it nicely. One final remark: Don't skimp on the Red Onion or the Jalapeno. I don't handle spice very well but if you de-seed the jalapeno well it won't be an issue and the two, especially the red onion, give the salsa a necessary "bite" to it that you need in order for it to be a salsa and not too fruity. Huge rave and will definitely be using this for parties more often. Make sure to make it the night of if you want it chunky, otherwise it gets liquidy within a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This Salsa is so fresh! I left out the Jalapeno as I was looking for something to cool down my jerk chicken. It was perfect, can't wait to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I made this upon request for my son's 14th birthday. It was a huge hit with the adults, but those pesky teenagers would not even try it. Well, except for my son and he LOVED it. Perect combo of fruitiness and spicyness. I quadrupled the recipe and ended up not having quite enough mango, but it didn't matter. And I had to use canned pineapple because no fresh was available. I used the exact recipe and at first it tasted a little salty. But by the next day, it was perfect. I think it could have even used more jalapenos. This will be on my go to list from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is a great fruity salsa to serve with white fish. Canned fruits can be used too without lack of flavor. Easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This salsa is so awesome! We just used half the salt (kosher salt). We have already made this twice in a week! Super duper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Made this for a salsa contest at work and won!! I doubled the recipe and added a drizzle of honey for added sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Better than any restaurant salsa. Was delicious! Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I absolutely loved this salsa. I served it with tortilla chips. The event I took it too, gained me and the recipe a lot of great compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Great salsa! For those looking for a little more heat, I substituted a habenero pepper instead of the jalepeno (DO NOT use more than one). I also grilled the fresh pineapple slices and the red onion before dicing them and tossing them into the mixture. Once chilled, it got rave reviews at our Cinco de Mayo party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeterG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
My husband really liked this. I thought it was OK, just not worth the effort it took to dice everything. I used it over some grilled chicken and rice. It made for a healthy light dinner but I won't be running to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States