Caribbean Crab Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
I made this recipe with fresh crab and it was absolutely phenomenal! Don't be intimidated by the word 'souffle' in the title -- this is the first souffle I have ever made and it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
Loved it! I cut the recipe in half & I wasn't sure I had enough crab so I added a can of medium shrimp (rinsed). I also used lime juice instead of lemon. With the exception of the salt, I doubled the spices & increased the coconut a bit. Put it all in a 4 cup souffle & baked for 24 minutes. Hubby suggested that, next time, I bake it in individual dishes for a prettier presentation. I served it w/ baked pineapple slices w/ a brown sugar/butter glaze & a romaine salad w/ walnuts & raspberry vinaigrette. I had a bottle of sauvignon blanc open so that's what we had but because of the spiciness of the dish, I think a gewurztraminer would make a better pairing. Thansk Claire...this was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I made this with imitation crabmeat, used curry sauce instead of powder. No matter - it was absolutely AMAZING and I cannot recommend trying this recipe enough! This was my first souffle, so I was a bit intimidated, but it raised perfectly and was stunning to see and taste. The best recipe I've come across on this site, hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Fabulous! What a great combination of flavors. I brought this to a brunch and everyone asked for the recipe. Well written recipe for those scared to attempt a souffle. Do not change a thing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
The coconut brings out the sweetness of the crab meat, very tasty. It was gone as soon as it hit the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
From a skeptic point of view,I'd have to say that this recipe was phenomenal. It was a bit messy combining all the ingredients together, but at the end all was forgotten once I savoured the delicious meal. So good that I didn't have to wash the dishes afterwards(LOL)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Absolutely divine! I made this for DH for Valentine's day, along with a wonderful ribeye for a little surf and turf, and it was exceptional! I may add some Old Bay next time, but it was good without it! Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
REALLY GOOD!!! I loved it!!! My parents loved it and my boyfriend totally loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This was an amazing dish! I was very afraid at first because I was unsure of how it would turn out, but it ended up WAY above expectations! I did change a little bit by adding almost twice the amount of spices, so the flavor was great! My first souffle and I was very pleased with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Good, but I expected more. With these expensive (crabmeat) and "exotic" (coconut) ingredients, and a fair share of spices, I supposed it would have quite a kick. Nevertheless, it tasted a little too bland for me. Interesting flavour, but seemed to lack something. Also, it was not very "filling". We ended up almost hungry, and a bit disappointed. The souffle part didn't rise very much, but this was because of a rookie mistake of mine - the recipe was not to blame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States