Caribbean Crab Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This was more of a crab quiche. I did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
The recipe was easy to follow and this turned out good. My family still didn't like it however. I thought that the curry would be subtle since there is only a little bit, but it was all I could taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I am a caterer and I planned a function with a Caribbean theme. I served this with a spicy peanut sauce. Outstanding - the line never stopped for this item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steven Thomas White
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! Coconut was a very good counterbalance to the savory crab - and enhanced the sweetness of the souffle in a good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This is a fantastic concept! I made some alterations to adhere to my special diet. I used 1/3 cup of rice milk (I made the recipe for 2), and I used Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour, a dash of Xanthan Gum (Gluten substitute). I used fresh thyme instead of dried, and used much more curry and garlic. I also added white pepper and garlic pepper. I didn't have red pepper flakes, so I used chili powder. I used extra virgin olive oil instead of butter, and unsweetened coconut flakes instead of sweetened. I topped the dish off with some fresh grated pecorino cheese (an Italian cheese made from ewe's milk). It was fantastic! Because I used a smaller dish, it only took about 10 minutes in the oven. I will definitely try this dish again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This was an amazing dish! I was very afraid at first because I was unsure of how it would turn out, but it ended up WAY above expectations! I did change a little bit by adding almost twice the amount of spices, so the flavor was great! My first souffle and I was very pleased with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Good, but I expected more. With these expensive (crabmeat) and "exotic" (coconut) ingredients, and a fair share of spices, I supposed it would have quite a kick. Nevertheless, it tasted a little too bland for me. Interesting flavour, but seemed to lack something. Also, it was not very "filling". We ended up almost hungry, and a bit disappointed. The souffle part didn't rise very much, but this was because of a rookie mistake of mine - the recipe was not to blame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Fabulous! What a great combination of flavors. I brought this to a brunch and everyone asked for the recipe. Well written recipe for those scared to attempt a souffle. Do not change a thing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I made this with imitation crabmeat, used curry sauce instead of powder. No matter - it was absolutely AMAZING and I cannot recommend trying this recipe enough! This was my first souffle, so I was a bit intimidated, but it raised perfectly and was stunning to see and taste. The best recipe I've come across on this site, hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I messed up the souffle part. But no need to fear, I used it as a dip with tortilla chips...still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States