Caribbean Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I was hoping this would have been better. I was really excited for coconut chicken but this wasn't that great. It wasn't horrible which is why I gave it a 3 but it was very watery and the coconut flavor was bland. Since chicken is so expensive I am going to chop the leftover chicken up and make a chicken salad or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
This was a great change-up to our regular chicken dinners! I had wanted to use something with coconut milk! I also read the other reviews, and changed just a bit -- I sauted minced garlic in canola oil before adding the chicken to the pan - I also used red and orange peppers (out of green!) so this was great color! I also added crushed pineapple to the mix (when adding the coconut milk) and it was a great compliment to the coconut! After the chicken and sauce cooked in the oven, I added sliced almonds to the top of the dish - they browned as the mixture cooked, and it was a great added touch! I also used Lawry's seasoning salt on the chicken as it cooked - it seemed to need a little salt for our taste! Overall - a really great change of pace! I served it over jasmine rice (sticky rice as the kids call it!) Forgot to mention - we only used about 1/4 cup chopped onion - and the pineapple I added, was about 1/2 can crushed pineapple. No pepper flakes for this crew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Delicious! My husband who grew up in Hawaii raved. I gave it 4 stars because it was not a hit with the kids and they ended up leaving it on their plates. I also would watch the timing very carefully. 45 minutes was way too long. My chicken was just right after 30 minutes...I could have even gone 25 and been fine. Perhaps I fried it too long but in any case - be careful to check it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINALEWIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
I prepared this recipe and was disappointed. The recipe was rather bland. I do not think I will be making this recipe again without some major changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I fixed this for Mother's Day and was very dissapointed. It was extremely watery and the onions completely overpowered the coconut milk. I did let the chicken set in coconut milk for about 8hrs, but it still had little flavor. I will not be making this again. I only rated it 3 because my brother, who never goes back for seconds, got an extra helping, but he was the only one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
What a great surprise! This was very tasty and I'm positive I'll be cooking this up again. There were a few tips that would have made this even better had I taken the time to read the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I love it. Have to hear what my hubby says after work. I pretty much did what this other reviewer posted. I cut the chicken into pieces and marinated it in the cocunut cream along with, ginger, pepper,cummin,garlic for a day or so. I then followed the recepie and browned the chicken tossing it with the veggies and baked it on a tray for 20 min or so... absolutely delicious... Oh, when browning the chicken, I added pineapple juice with chunks of pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This was delicious! My family says I can make this every week! I did have to improvise little. I was cooking something else in the oven at 350 degrees but for only 25-30 min so I added a bit of cornstarch mixed with water to the mixture while it was cooking on the stove to thicken it up a bit and then baked it with the other. Sprinkled it with toasted coconut and toasted pecans just before serving. YUM! I am thinking of some way to add some pineapple to it next time. That coconut flavor seems to want it. But it doesn't need it, it was wonderful. And easy. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
A great dish to prepare for people who arent use to having different chicken. Only make sure that yo dont let the chicken sit in the oven over the time suggested cause the coconut juice will dry up..but still the best. Takes just like Churrascos Coconut Chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
Good recipe. Be sure to get the correct thing when buying coconut milk. I bought Cream of Coconut near the coctail mixes. It was thick, but way too sweet, overwhelming. Will try it again with the right ingredient. Served it with a Caribbean rice mix from the grocery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States