Caribbean Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I cut the chicken into strips and marinated it in coconut water that I got from a fresh coconut I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. Also, during the last 20 mins of baking, I sprinkled freshly grated coconut and pineapple chuncks on top of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
we found this a little bland. It wasn't what we expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
My boyfriend loved this and went back for fourths. I cooked the chicken in pieces 1st and then added the red & green bell pepper and the onion. Then I added the coconut milk, salt, pepper, sugar, garlic, red pepper flakes and a little bit of cayenne pepper. Right before I poured it in the baking dish, I added crushed pineapple. It turned out very tasty and rather spicy too. I think I used too many red pepper flakes or too much cayenne pepper. Great dish, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMILAM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This was terrific. Reminds me exactly of a yellow curry dish from a thai restaurant. I followed the recipe pretty much exactly except I marinated the chicken in coconut milk for a few hours before cooking. Next time I make it I will cut the chicken up into smaller pieces so they will be more flavorful. I will also add some pineapple. Excellent recipe, and a very welcome change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I found this recipe to taste just a little bland even though there were peppers and coconut. It seemed to cook down the coconut flavor so that it was almost non-exsisting. My family didn't really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mill City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I was really hoping for more from this recipe, but it was too watery and flavorless to me. Sorry. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
WOW... what a wonderful meal... I wouldn't change a thing and I will definately be making this again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Well, I took advice from others and tweaked the recipe a bit. I cubed the chicken then marinated it in Lite Coconut Milk (I may try thr real stuff next time!), garlic, red pepper flakes, basil, salt, pepper & a dash of Asian hot sauce(in many grocery stores International Aisles) Then an hour before cooking I squeezed some lime and added a tablespoon of crushed Pineapple. Then I sauteed the onions and chicken, added Red Peppers & Mushrooms along with the remainder of coconut milk, a little more pineapple & a dash more of hot sauce(because I like it hot) then simmered on the stove till cooked. Put it atop jasmine rice and topped with toasted almonds. Husband liked it....said it was a nice "lite" dish. I, of, course, had to add MORE hot sauce and salt for some more flavor! Pretty good though, will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
this is ok.. but the recipe for coconut chicken fingures from Kraft - when soked in ceam of coconut - is much much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bolivar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States