Caribbean Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
YUM! This meal was so different and so good! I added drained pineapple chunks and also made some toasted coconut that i sprinkled over before serving! This is a keeper recipe..just something different when you're not feeling like cooking anything 'typical'. Thanks for passing it along!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
This recipe has the basics down, but is a bit bland for my family's tastes. I modified it by adding some Penzey's Jerk Seasoning to the coconut milk, and it came out tasting delicious. I served it with fried plantains, fruit salad and rice, and it made for an exotic slice of summer flavor in the middle of a drab winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
The coconut milk makes for a unique taste but nothing that's overpowering. Pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
This was really good. I doubled the sauce as recommended and was very glad I did. I also cut my chicken in chunks and sauted it. I ran out of time and didn't even bake it. We had it over jasmine rice and then passed toasted coconut and almond slices. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
Great in theory, not so great in practice. Was I supposed to cut up the chicken breasts? I think it may have turned out better that way. Even with keeping it in the oven less time as suggested by other reviewers, the dish took longer to prepare than I expected with just ok results. Could have more to do with my cooking skills than the actual recipe though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
I used the whole can of coconut milk and added a few dashes of curry. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBSEY95

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Durham, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
very good!!! i scaled this recipe to 4 & added only 1/2 cup of coconut milk. next time will add more coconut milk and less red crushed pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
I really liked this, but I think I would marinate the chicken before cooking it to add more flavor and add more coconut milk. I did add a little pineapple juice to it and really liked it better than without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
Great! Next time I'll add pineaapple chunks & juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WellConnectedMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
This recipe is delicous! Based on other reviews I made a few changes myself. I cut the chicken in cubes first. Before I browned the chicken, I marinated it with basil leaves, onion & garlic powder. I also used a whole can of coconut milk and more red chili flakes. Before I put it in the oven I added more basil leaves for extra tasted. We had it over a bed of white rice. My husband and I really enjoyed it! I'll definitely make it again! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States