Caribbean Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
This is a very colorful dish, especially after adding fresh pineapple, cilantro, and lime juice. I liked it pretty well, and will make it again, but I think I'll thicken the sauce, and either add jerk seasoning, as suggested by another reviewer, or 1/2 c or so of spicy peanut sauce (like would be used on a chicken satay). Thanks, Tia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
this was a good and different recipe. my roommates loved it & i thought it was a nice change. we served it with Asian Coconut Rice from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
Great recipe!! The chicken was so moist and juicy. The coconut milk helped to balance out the flavors so that the red pepper didn't overwhelm it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Glenwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
I have been dying to make a dish with coconut milk, and I have to admit that I was slightly disappointed with the outcome of this one. I guess I had high expectations after reading the reviews. I expected more of an exotic flavor, and this was just kind of ordinary. However, the chicken did turn out very tender and juicy. I didn't even need a knife to cut it! It tasted great....just not what I had in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
My husband and I both really liked this and my house smelled wonderful! I made a lot of changes based on a lot of the other reviews. I marinated put black and red pepper,and garlic powder on each chicken breast then covered with 1 can of lite coconut milk for several hours.(next time I would cut the chicken up first instead of leaving the breast whole) browned the chicken then cut up into pieces- in another skillet I sauted green chiles and finely chopped ginger along with the onions and peppers.Then added brocolli and baby corn. once the chicken was browned I added the saute from the other skillet and added another can of lite coconut milk and about 1/2 c. pineapple juice.Added chopped cilantro and more red pepper (we like our food spicy!) let everything simmer for about 20 minutes.added cornstarch to thicken the sauce a bit served over jasmine rice and topped with sliced almonds- it was a perfect sweet and spicy combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
This is delicious. I had 6 chicken breasts so I used a full can of coconut milk and increased the other ingredients slightly. The only changes I made were to cut the breasts in half lengthwise and I baked them at 350 degrees for slightly under an hour. I'll make this often as I think the recipe could be made with a lot of interesting variations. Thanks, Tia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
This was wonderful! I would follow the recipe exactly as it says here. We have been making this twice a month for over a year and my husband and I absolutely love it! It is our favorite dish. Try adding more red pepper flakes if you like, and I always buy the expensive coconut milk (the kind you make pina coladas with) as the cheaper kind doesn't taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
did it all in my cast iron skillet start to finish but used lite coconut milk. It was pretty flavorful and I let it slow bake on 250 for a couple of hours for softer chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
2nd time we made this, wont be making it again, chopped the chicken and cooked it on the stove with yellow bell peppers and also let it marinate for 6hrs. Served over rice. If it wasnt for the yellow bell pepper it would have been really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
An incredible match with the "dirty rice" recipe!! Unbelievably great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Native-Memphian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States