Caribbean Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I cut the chicken into strips and marinated it in coconut water that I got from a fresh coconut I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. Also, during the last 20 mins of baking, I sprinkled freshly grated coconut and pineapple chuncks on top of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
we found this a little bland. It wasn't what we expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
My boyfriend loved this and went back for fourths. I cooked the chicken in pieces 1st and then added the red & green bell pepper and the onion. Then I added the coconut milk, salt, pepper, sugar, garlic, red pepper flakes and a little bit of cayenne pepper. Right before I poured it in the baking dish, I added crushed pineapple. It turned out very tasty and rather spicy too. I think I used too many red pepper flakes or too much cayenne pepper. Great dish, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMILAM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This was terrific. Reminds me exactly of a yellow curry dish from a thai restaurant. I followed the recipe pretty much exactly except I marinated the chicken in coconut milk for a few hours before cooking. Next time I make it I will cut the chicken up into smaller pieces so they will be more flavorful. I will also add some pineapple. Excellent recipe, and a very welcome change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I found this recipe to taste just a little bland even though there were peppers and coconut. It seemed to cook down the coconut flavor so that it was almost non-exsisting. My family didn't really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mill City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I was really hoping for more from this recipe, but it was too watery and flavorless to me. Sorry. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
WOW... what a wonderful meal... I wouldn't change a thing and I will definately be making this again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Well, I took advice from others and tweaked the recipe a bit. I cubed the chicken then marinated it in Lite Coconut Milk (I may try thr real stuff next time!), garlic, red pepper flakes, basil, salt, pepper & a dash of Asian hot sauce(in many grocery stores International Aisles) Then an hour before cooking I squeezed some lime and added a tablespoon of crushed Pineapple. Then I sauteed the onions and chicken, added Red Peppers & Mushrooms along with the remainder of coconut milk, a little more pineapple & a dash more of hot sauce(because I like it hot) then simmered on the stove till cooked. Put it atop jasmine rice and topped with toasted almonds. Husband liked it....said it was a nice "lite" dish. I, of, course, had to add MORE hot sauce and salt for some more flavor! Pretty good though, will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
this is ok.. but the recipe for coconut chicken fingures from Kraft - when soked in ceam of coconut - is much much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bolivar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States