Caribbean Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
These muffins were very good! I left the rum extract out by mistake, and used 3/4 cup fresh pineapple, instead of dried. I'll use more next time! Also, the reviewer that pointed this out was right - the recipe makes 18 muffins, not 12 (we definitely didn't mind!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was a great and easy recipe. Instead of muffins, I made a cake in a 13x9 pan. Silly me, I forgot the baking soda, and the cake still turned out and was delicious. Granted, it was a bit more dense than cake, more like bread or pound cake consistency, but it still received rave reviews. It was moist and flavorful. I made a crumble for the top out of butter, mixed spices, oats, shredded coconut, and brown sugar. It complimented the cake really well and added a nice, contrasting texture. I find it difficult to find good recipes with true carribean flavors, but this one is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
TO correct the typo in the recipe, I used 1 tsp. of vanilla instead of the 1 tbsp. of rum as was instructed. I added more pineapple and coconut also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Dry and cloyingly sweet. I couldn't get past the first bite. Definitely deceiving because they look so much better than they taste! The flavor of banana is prominent but the rum, coconut and pineapple flavors are all but lost in that of sugar. I was also disappointed that the yield was totally off. One recipe made 21 good-sized muffins, not 12. I realize the given yield can only be an approximation, but this wasn't even close. I didn't need that many. I wasn't prepared for that many. The recipe was good...in theory. The real thing will be tossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This recipe turned out moist and tasty! However, I had to alter the recipe: I used margarine instead of butter because we were out of butter. I used 1/2 tablespoon of VANILLA extract instead of 1 Tbsp of rum, I used 2 large bananas instead of 3 medium, I used 3/4 cup of sweetened, shredded coconut because that's all we had, and instead of dried pineapple I used 1/2 cup drained canned pineapple tidbits. I will make this recipe again, still with my alterations-however I will use butter next time for a richer flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I'm always looking for ways to use up ripe bananas...these were really moist and I liked the taste of the coconut and pineapple. Next time I think I'll increase the pineapple to at least 3/4 cup and add some diced maraschino cherries. Following the recipe exactly I ended up with 18 nice sized muffins. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIO1
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Great taste. I left out the rum extract. Substituted vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
THESE WERE AWESOME! I used slightly less brown sugar than called for (and may alter it next time to use honey or agave instead as I prefer not to eat 'sugar', anyone have any suggestions on making the modification???) and used canned tidbit pineapple chopped into bits. Mmmmmmmm. These were very tropically and moist. I didn't taste too much of the coconut sadly, so next time I may omit the flaked coconut altogether and add 1/2 rum extract and 1/2 coconut extract instead. My husband is 'not a muffin fan', which he told me today after ten years of couplehood, ha ha, and he thought they were not moist enough. I told him I don't care, that I'll be making these often for myself. Today in fact, because I have some pineapple left over! :) Don't worry, I'll still find something to bake for him...but I'm glad I get these all to myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I thought this was an innovative muffin recipe so I tried it out. I did change a couple of things: I dont like shredded coconut much so I omitted it except for using a little as a garnish on the tops. Instead, I substituted the rum flavoring(also something I dont care for) for an equal amount of coconut extract. I also substituted the same amount of puree'd canned pinapple for the dried. They came out heavenly. Next time I make them, I will increase the bananas to four as I think it would make them even more moist and dense. Also, I didnt have butter on hand the first time so I used margarine which I WOULD NOT recommend doing-I was lucky they still came out despite that mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butter-Bug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arnaudville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
My husband liked them and he does not like my cooking. I thought they were a bit dry. Any suggestions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States