Caribbean Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Great recipe. Alway try to adapt with the things that I have on hand. Found some dried pineapple in cupboard while cleaning so needed to use it up. Had only frozen butter so I used coconut oil and organic cane sugar and used 1 cup of pineapple. Didnt look like the picture but would be oh so good with a cream cheese frosting with some large coconut flakes in it...YES it made 18 nice sized muffins and I loved that they came out of the papers without sticking. Nice and dense, not crumbly~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Dearolf Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
These were really delicious, and perfect because I have a lot of dried pineapple chunks to use up. The coconut, banana and pineapple flavors blended perfectly. They were great breakfast muffins and they froze very well also. :) I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wishgirl10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Excellent muffins! I thought they were perfectly moist... and, I am baffled by other reviewers who say the recipe as written makes too many muffins? I got 12 perfectly sized muffins out of the recipe as written. I agree with others that the coconut and pinapple flavors really aren't very strong. I will use rum extract next time- I used vanilla because it's all that I had on hand. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I can only give this 3 stars because, although the taste was okay, they were a little drier than I prefer. I made the recipe as is because this was my first time using it. I'll keep looking for one I like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
pretty tasty, took out the pinapple replaced with chocolate chips. made baby muffins out of them, takes about 8 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
These were the best muffins I've made in a very long time! I used dried unsweetened coconut, real rum and fresh pineapple. Awesome in January when we'd rather be on a Caribbean beach...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Love this recipe! Best muffins I have ever had. I took the suggestions others made and made a couple changes. I used 1tsp of vanilla rather than the rum extract, 2 bananas, 15 1/2 oz can of crushed pineapple drained, 1cup of packed coconut and on top of the muffins put some brown sugar and coconut. Awesome! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I just loved these muffins, if you are making these make sure you use the rum ~ it really is what gives these the extra kick. I did tweak this recipe a little. I only had 2 bananas, so had to use just those. I used a mixture of white and brown sugar. I increased the rum extract to 1.5 tablespoons and the coconut I used 1/2 powdered coconut (from the asian store) and 1/2 shredded. I did'nt like the look of these muffins so decided to use my own coconut streutsel ( 1/4 cup all-purpose flour, 1 tablespoon white sugar, 3 tablespoons sweetened flaked coconut, 2 tablespoons butter simply mix all the ingredients together and put to one side). Once I filled the muffin papers to 3/4 full I added streutsel mixture to the top before putting in the oven, they really did give the finished muffins a m ore professional look. Like other reviews stated this recipe makes approx 18 good size muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by MARIO1
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Great taste. I left out the rum extract. Substituted vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
My husband liked them and he does not like my cooking. I thought they were a bit dry. Any suggestions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States