Carib Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2000
I like this reecipe a lot, but with a few changes: 1.) Only add water if necessary 2.) Use canned black beans 3.) Reserve some black beans to add back to the pot after puree-ing (it adds a nicer texture, I think) 4.) Add a few dashes of green Tabasco sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2001
Great recipe!! It was a hit with cuban sandwiches! You can also use the quick-soak method for the beans; boil in water for 2 minutes then soak for 1 hr. Then, rinse and use as if you soaked overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
Very good taste! Note: I pureed only a portion of the beans because I could see the soup would be nothing but creamy, and decided I would not puree the beans at all next time I make it--I like having textured black bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
When I blended this soup fully (reason: cooked celery chunks) and added 1/3 cup sugar, which balanced all the heat and spices, it became the best soup I'd ever made. Garnish with a little chopped cilantro instead of sour cream. WHAT a delectable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
This soup is terrible!!! I spend FOREVER making it. The flavor is like a cheap shot. Add sherry and cayenne to give it a kick because the soup is flavorless otherwise. YUCK! So not worth my time cooking it or the money I spent to make it! PASS THIS ONE UP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
We had a "tropical" dinner party and served this soup with a salad and coconut chicken. Everyone LOVED the soup. It was so easy to put together, too. Just throw everything in the pan and let it cook!! I used canned black beans instead and it made it even easier. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
My husband can't stop raving about this soup. I made mine with canned beans, but I can't wait to try it with dried beans. It was sooooooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
Overall, we really liked this soup. I made a few changes and we liked it better this way: 1. I used three cans of black beans-do not rinse. 2. I added all the spices and liquids together, plus 1 1/2 t. liquid smoke as it was cooking. 4. I used homemade chicken stock-four cups, no water. And I did add the two cans of ham-do not drain. 5. I did not even blend it and it turned out great. 6. I think part of what we liked about this soup is that I also added 1 cup of chopped, fresh parsley, as the other vegatables were being sauted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I increased this recipe to accomidate the two bags of beans (4 cups) I had to purchase. The soup was a hit at the office party and I froze 1/4 of it for myself. One recommendation: hold down the lid on your blender with extra strength if you are not use to using a blender...this soup is not fun to clean off the walls, floor, fridge, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This is a great base recipes. I did some substituting and additions. First of all I added lots of flavor using a 4.5lb picnic ham (bone in) to cook and soften my beans. The ham was simply delicious after the cooking was finished. I also used a variety of hot peppers to give it some more pizzaz. I omited the sherry and used more chicken broth to the stock. All and all this recipe was very good to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States