Carib Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
This is the very best black bean soup I have ever had!!!! My whole family (including a four and two year old) loved it, Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
This was delicious! I followed all the directions, except I used 2 cans of black beans and 2 cups chicken broth, and no more water. I added the sherry and vinegar at the end and mistakenly omitted the soy sauce. I didn't make a soup but instead simmered down the liquids and served as a side dish. Magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
I made this with canned black beans with no problem. Recipe doubles quite nicely. Make sure and stir the soup before you show anyone because it looks terrible when it is separated. Super easy to prepare and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
This soup is a crowd pleaser- and my two year old LOVED it! Even with extra cooking my beans didn't completely soften which was not a problem after I blended the entire batch. I completely prepared the soup a day early and then set it in a crock pot before we headed out to the pumpkin patch. When we returned a few hours later, the house smelled wonderful and the soup pleased everyone. It is so tasty that we will be having it again soon. Thanks! Update: It is Oct 23, 2008, five years (to the day) after my first review of this soup. We are having it tonight. It is truly a family favorite- a staple of our fall and winter meal plan. It is a great kid-pleaser. BTW, my beans didn't soften up tonight either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This is a great base recipes. I did some substituting and additions. First of all I added lots of flavor using a 4.5lb picnic ham (bone in) to cook and soften my beans. The ham was simply delicious after the cooking was finished. I also used a variety of hot peppers to give it some more pizzaz. I omited the sherry and used more chicken broth to the stock. All and all this recipe was very good to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I increased this recipe to accomidate the two bags of beans (4 cups) I had to purchase. The soup was a hit at the office party and I froze 1/4 of it for myself. One recommendation: hold down the lid on your blender with extra strength if you are not use to using a blender...this soup is not fun to clean off the walls, floor, fridge, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Wade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
Overall, we really liked this soup. I made a few changes and we liked it better this way: 1. I used three cans of black beans-do not rinse. 2. I added all the spices and liquids together, plus 1 1/2 t. liquid smoke as it was cooking. 4. I used homemade chicken stock-four cups, no water. And I did add the two cans of ham-do not drain. 5. I did not even blend it and it turned out great. 6. I think part of what we liked about this soup is that I also added 1 cup of chopped, fresh parsley, as the other vegatables were being sauted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
My husband can't stop raving about this soup. I made mine with canned beans, but I can't wait to try it with dried beans. It was sooooooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
We had a "tropical" dinner party and served this soup with a salad and coconut chicken. Everyone LOVED the soup. It was so easy to put together, too. Just throw everything in the pan and let it cook!! I used canned black beans instead and it made it even easier. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
This soup is terrible!!! I spend FOREVER making it. The flavor is like a cheap shot. Add sherry and cayenne to give it a kick because the soup is flavorless otherwise. YUCK! So not worth my time cooking it or the money I spent to make it! PASS THIS ONE UP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States