Carib Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
A little too much sherry makes it too sweet. Back that off and it's very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
delicously creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This was very tasty and easy. I was scared to put the sherry in, but it really did add a wonderful flavor once I did it. My boyfriend and my picky 11 year old son both like it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I was skeptical about this at first, but it's probably one of the best soups I have ever had. I didn't puree it because I thought having the whole beans would be nice and I doubt I ever will puree it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Yum! This black bean soup was delicious! I made a few changes, though. I only pureed half of the beans, and it had a nice texture. I also cooked some salt-pork in with it for added flavor. Because of the added salt from the meat, I omitted the soy sauce. I served it with chopped onion and sour cream : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This was delicious! I ran out of sherry and used jack daniels instead, very yummy. Also, served it with sour cream, green and red onion, and grilled and sliced turkey keilbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I love soups, especially when I can freeze some servings. I increased the quantities (my pkg of beans was a bit bigger) but tried to keep the ratio of the ingredients. I was also afraid the freezing would lose the hint of the sherry, but it didn't! I found it easier to use a hand blender to puree the soup directly in the pot. This left some very tasty bits in the soup. Hearty comfort stuff! Thank you W Anatooskin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I thought this recipe was pretty good. We didn't use the soy sauce or vinegar, but we doubled the spices & it was nice & spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Good recipe. I didn't plan this the night before, so hadn't soaked the dry beans. Instead, I substituted 3 cans of black beans. Following some other suggestions I skipped the 2 C. of water, dropped the soy sauce to one teaspoon and I found it too vinegary so next time I would suggest only using 1 T. of balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia_Marcia_Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Studio City, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
This one is a keeper. I saved some beans and vegetables, but pureed most of the soup. The consistency was excellent, almost creamy. I skipped the soy sauce since I used canned beans and they have plenty of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States