Carib Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I love soups, especially when I can freeze some servings. I increased the quantities (my pkg of beans was a bit bigger) but tried to keep the ratio of the ingredients. I was also afraid the freezing would lose the hint of the sherry, but it didn't! I found it easier to use a hand blender to puree the soup directly in the pot. This left some very tasty bits in the soup. Hearty comfort stuff! Thank you W Anatooskin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I thought this recipe was pretty good. We didn't use the soy sauce or vinegar, but we doubled the spices & it was nice & spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Good recipe. I didn't plan this the night before, so hadn't soaked the dry beans. Instead, I substituted 3 cans of black beans. Following some other suggestions I skipped the 2 C. of water, dropped the soy sauce to one teaspoon and I found it too vinegary so next time I would suggest only using 1 T. of balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia_Marcia_Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Studio City, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
This one is a keeper. I saved some beans and vegetables, but pureed most of the soup. The consistency was excellent, almost creamy. I skipped the soy sauce since I used canned beans and they have plenty of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This soup is the BEST I EVER COOKED!!!!! This was my first time cooking it and it came out so darn good that I hurt myself eating 2 LARGE bowls. The beans took over 6 hours to cook, but well worth the time spent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
I loved this recipe. I would give it 5 stars, except that we had mixed reviews in the family. My 3-yr-old loved it. The 5-yr-old liked it, but not enough to finish her bowl. The 7-yr-old doesn't like anything, so he doesn't count. My husband didn't like the vinegar. Maybe next time we'll try it without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
This is the very best black bean soup I have ever had!!!! My whole family (including a four and two year old) loved it, Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
This was delicious! I followed all the directions, except I used 2 cans of black beans and 2 cups chicken broth, and no more water. I added the sherry and vinegar at the end and mistakenly omitted the soy sauce. I didn't make a soup but instead simmered down the liquids and served as a side dish. Magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
I made this with canned black beans with no problem. Recipe doubles quite nicely. Make sure and stir the soup before you show anyone because it looks terrible when it is separated. Super easy to prepare and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
This soup is a crowd pleaser- and my two year old LOVED it! Even with extra cooking my beans didn't completely soften which was not a problem after I blended the entire batch. I completely prepared the soup a day early and then set it in a crock pot before we headed out to the pumpkin patch. When we returned a few hours later, the house smelled wonderful and the soup pleased everyone. It is so tasty that we will be having it again soon. Thanks! Update: It is Oct 23, 2008, five years (to the day) after my first review of this soup. We are having it tonight. It is truly a family favorite- a staple of our fall and winter meal plan. It is a great kid-pleaser. BTW, my beans didn't soften up tonight either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States