Carib Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This is a GREAT soup recipe, and it received a lot of good comments! Everyone I served it to really did like it a lot! However, I did change the recipe just slightly. I added only 1 T. of balsamic vinegar because, based on other reviewer's comments, I was afraid the 2 T. vinegar would leave a strong taste. After fixing the soup, I found it to be a little bland, so I added sugar, some salt, and some bacon pieces (which I promptly removed after a few minutes. I only wanted a slight smoky flavoring.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
The flavor was good, but the soup was a little too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet2th99

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I didn't have sherry, sour cream, or green onion on hand but the soup turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This recipe turned out fantastic. We had a group of 30 for a party and I made this along with cuban roasted pork and rice. I did vary the recipe a bit by omitting the sherry, cut the vinegar a bit, added more garlic and added oregano and blended only one third of the beans and let it simmer much longer (about another hour or so) to blend the flavors more. Our dominican and cuban guests loved it. Next time I will thicken the broth with a bit of cornstarch (just my own preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sirrah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I really enjoyed this mild and filling soup. I added about double the cayenne and 1/2 tsp ground curry, and used all chicken broth instead of water and broth...the soup is quite liquidy for a pureed soup, so if I make again I'll reduce to just the amount of broth called for and add no other liquid. the dollup of sour cream adds a nice, surprising tang (but my hubby didn't like it as well as just the plain soup.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Very Good Soup - A little timely BUT well worth it. Super easy to make. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Amazingly good and worth the effort. You will not be disappointed if you follow the directions as noted. I have made it 5 times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Good flavour! I didn't puree and also added some chopped red peppers and sliced mushrooms as I like lots of veggies in my soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari Block

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
The flavor of this was absolutely perfect! Next time I make it I'm going to cut the water down a little and only puree about half to give it a little more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
The most amazing black bean soup!!! Much better with dry beans, canned don't give you the texture you need. The only comment I would make would be to eliminate the 2 cups of water. The broth makes it plenty liquidy, and the extra 2 cups of water make it too thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States