Carib Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
yummy. added shredded chicken and cooked in pressure cooker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I made this exactly written except for the fact that I didn't have any sherry. I substituted dry vermouth. I read all the reviews and opted to keep the 2 cups of water. I'm glad I did. If you serve it over rice (as you would gumbo), then the extra liquid is a good thing, but we thought it was also good without any rice. I used an immersion blender so I would still have some of the beans for texture. The flavor is wonderful. My husband and adult son both loved it, especially with a dollop of sour cream on top. I will definitely make this again. Best black bean soup I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
It's an ok soup, almost an eclectic twist to it. Not the nice, thick, robust Cuban black bean soup I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Absolutely delicious. Followed recipe as written starting with dried beans. Had to cook a little longer than stated in recipe. I used a submersion blender to puree some but not all the beans. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe, William!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Splendid! Made exactly as written except used veggie stock in place of chicken broth, left out the sherry and used just one TBSP vinegar -- garnished with thinly sliced green onions and red bell pepper for a fantastic vegan dinner main course -- definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is a good one. Next time I make it I'll try adding the flaked ham because I thought it needed a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
this is a wonderful recipe! I substituted 4 teaspoons of vanilla extract for the sherry; felt a bit scared the first time I made it because of the odd combination of ingredients, but this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This soup was awesome! I used the dry beans. I also read the other reviews and only pureed half of the mixture and left half of the beans in the soup and also eliminated the two cups of water. I like having some beans in the soup rather than it being all liquid. I made it for a tailgate party and everyone loved it. It has a little kick to it, which was the perfect amount of spice. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I love this soup. I love MAKING this soup! Rich, hearty, a bit of spice...my husband loves it too. Sometimes, I add a bit of chipotle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States