Carib Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
Very good taste! Note: I pureed only a portion of the beans because I could see the soup would be nothing but creamy, and decided I would not puree the beans at all next time I make it--I like having textured black bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
The most amazing black bean soup!!! Much better with dry beans, canned don't give you the texture you need. The only comment I would make would be to eliminate the 2 cups of water. The broth makes it plenty liquidy, and the extra 2 cups of water make it too thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
This soup is a crowd pleaser- and my two year old LOVED it! Even with extra cooking my beans didn't completely soften which was not a problem after I blended the entire batch. I completely prepared the soup a day early and then set it in a crock pot before we headed out to the pumpkin patch. When we returned a few hours later, the house smelled wonderful and the soup pleased everyone. It is so tasty that we will be having it again soon. Thanks! Update: It is Oct 23, 2008, five years (to the day) after my first review of this soup. We are having it tonight. It is truly a family favorite- a staple of our fall and winter meal plan. It is a great kid-pleaser. BTW, my beans didn't soften up tonight either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
This one is a keeper. I saved some beans and vegetables, but pureed most of the soup. The consistency was excellent, almost creamy. I skipped the soy sauce since I used canned beans and they have plenty of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Amazingly good and worth the effort. You will not be disappointed if you follow the directions as noted. I have made it 5 times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I was skeptical about this at first, but it's probably one of the best soups I have ever had. I didn't puree it because I thought having the whole beans would be nice and I doubt I ever will puree it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Good recipe. I didn't plan this the night before, so hadn't soaked the dry beans. Instead, I substituted 3 cans of black beans. Following some other suggestions I skipped the 2 C. of water, dropped the soy sauce to one teaspoon and I found it too vinegary so next time I would suggest only using 1 T. of balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia_Marcia_Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Studio City, California, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2000
I like this reecipe a lot, but with a few changes: 1.) Only add water if necessary 2.) Use canned black beans 3.) Reserve some black beans to add back to the pot after puree-ing (it adds a nicer texture, I think) 4.) Add a few dashes of green Tabasco sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
great recipe...doctored it a little by adding half a bunch of chopped cilantro and 3-4 chopped sweet potatoes. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Needs work. Added LOTS more cumin, should have used less balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States