Carib Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Very Very good soup, I used canned black beans though. I also added 1/2 Red Bell Pepper, 1/2 Red Onion, and i pulse blended the celery with 1 1/2 aji cachucha peppers. I will definitely make this again. the only thing i would do differently is use 3 cans instead of 2 cans of beans. The next time i made this the only thing i changed was the amount of water/broth. i just used 2 cups of chicken stock with 2 cans of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rmolledo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This was o.k., but I'll keep searching for another black bean soup recipe. I used dried beans and soaked them for almost 24 hours before cooking them, and they still didn't soften. Next time I'll bring them to a brief boil and let them sit. I ended up having to puree the entire batch with my hand blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This soup is so aromatic and so good! I did add salt and a little more cayanne at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belle
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Serve with chopped cilantro, tomato, onion and sour cream. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kreativekuisine
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
First of all, I used canned black beans. In the soup I added a little more cumin & cayenne pepper. I added some chili powder that the recipe didn't call for, but I didn't use any sherry. I didn't bother blending the ingredients, but just mashed some of the beans while it was in the pot. I served this soup with ensalada de cebollas (onion salad) which consisted of tomatoes, onions, cilantro, lime juice, and a little salt. I also had rice with mixed vegetables. This is a very good recipe that tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kreativekuisine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I've tried different recipes but this one is the best. This soup is wonderful! I didn't have sherry or soy sauce in the house so I omitted it. Still superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Not great but easy--I found it very bland, but nothing hot sauce couldn't fix. I did a half recipe and started soaking the beans the morning I cooked it, and they were perfectly cooked. I also pureed the soup with an immersion blender--I highly recommend blending it, so that the texture is silky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Family loved this recipe! Just the right amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
SO AWESOME! My boyfriend, a picky eater, had me make it TWICE this week. I did the quick-soak method on my beans...1 pound of beans covered with 2 " of water, boil 2 minutes, remove from heat, cover and let sit 1 hour. As others suggested, I left out the 2 c. water when I added the broth and added 1 pound of chopped leftover Thanksgiving ham. Along with the cayanne and cumin, I added 1/2 tsp curry...the other of my favorite "c" spices. I only pureed about 1/2 as others suggested and the texture was perfect. On the balsamic vinegar...which seems to be an issue with other reviewers as well...I only had 1T in the pantry for the first batch. I could barely taste it. I added the 2T called for in the second batch and I thought it was too strong...but my boyfriend loved it. Will probably compromise at 1 1/2T next time. I also added 1T liquid smoke at the end as I LOVE that flavor. Served it with sour cream and green onions and crusty homemade bread. Just great!!! Thanks so much for a WONDERFUL recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Wylie, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I served this with a lump of steamed rice in the middle of the bowl and with the Best... Grilled Margarita Chicken...Ever! recipe I found on this sight. What an amazing meal. The flavors went so well together. I took the advice of other reviewers and left the water out of the soup. I also only pureed half the soup. I had planned on putting in the vinegar but after tasting it(more than once...it was soooo good!) I just couldn't put it in. It was so amazing without it I would have cried if I didn't like the vinegar flavor added in. My husband couldn't stop raving about how good it was through the entire meal. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States